Tags

, , , , ,

29864343

  • Author :Kevin Kwan
  • Publisher : Penguin Random House
  • Genre : Contemporary, Humour
  • Source : Netgalley
  • Rating : 3.5/5 Stars


Rich People Problems, the third instalment in the Crazy Rich Asians series by author Kevin Kwan, is the first one I’ve read in the series. I was so glad to have been sent a review copy that I didn’t even worry about whether I would understand it and thankfully, it doesn’t seem to be a series series, more of a sequence series.

The story follows a bunch of rich people, related and trying to become related, as they navigate the ill health and death of one of the most iconic matrons in Singapore. They are a people who are both true to their Singaporean culture, converted to another religion (and fanatic af), rebellious as hell and leading secret lives that not many others know. It is an absolutely entertaining group of people that will keep you turning pages till you’ve reached a point where you stomp and scream and swear.

It took me a while to finish this book, almost a month, but that was because I was travelling and didn’t have it with me. Doesn’t really reflect on the book itself. Once I got the book back in my paws I finished it in a day and absolutely loved most seconds of it.

WHAT I LIKED : Almost everything. I adored how the author takes these characters and turns some into spoofs, some into caricatures and some into absolutely relatable and loveable people. Yes, the grandmother, Astrid and Nicholas are the stars of the show but there are other characters that you tend to root for despite their absolute ridiculousness. This has to be the author’s absolute skill in writing that makes you sympathise with these people despite hating them or rolling your eyes at them. (Kitty for instance).

Also the author expertly took you around the numerous characters (except for one or two bumps) giving you a full roundabout of everyone and everything that is relevant and sometimes seemingly irrelevant to the final story. I love the author’s sense of humour and will definitely be rereading this or giving this as a copy whenever a bookish gift is required.

WHAT I DISLIKED : Well I thought the Astrid ending was a bit too drawn out. And she became less and less easy to sympathise with because of that. There is a lot of rambling on her part towards the end and (I’m a trained Yoga Therapist so don’t give me grief for this statement) while I don’t mind new agey bullshit from some of the other spoofy characters I could not stand it coming from here. I wish her character had changed a little less and maybe stood up for herself a little more. In fact this is the only reason this went from a 4.5 star to a 3.5 star.


I would recommend this for anyone who is looking for a light hearted read and wants something different from the usual white author, white world, ballrooms and rich mean girls book. The characters are diverse but absolutely easy to get, the author is brilliant and at the end of it you’ll have one character that you want to read about over and over again. I am going to be adding his other two books to my amazon birthday wish list and send it out to everyone I know.

When Nicholas Young hears that his grandmother, Su Yi, is on her deathbed, he rushes to be by her bedside–but he’s not alone. It seems the entire Shang-Young clan has convened from all corners of the globe, ostensibly to care for their matriarch but truly to stake claim on the massive fortune that Su Yi controls. With each family member secretly fantasizing about getting the keys to Tyersall Park–a trophy estate on 64 prime acres in the heart of Singapore–the place becomes a hotbed of intrigue and Nicholas finds himself blocked from entering the premises. As relatives claw over heirlooms, Astrid Leong is at the centre of her own storm, desperately in love with her old sweetheart Charlie Wu, but tormented by his ex-wife–a woman hell bent on destroying Astrid’s reputation and relationship. Meanwhile Kitty Pong, married to billionaire Jack Bing, finds a formidable opponent in his fashionista daughter, Colette. A sweeping novel that takes us from the elegantly appointed mansions of Manila to the secluded private islands in the Sulu Sea, from a schoolyard kidnapping to a gold-leaf dance floor spattered with blood, Kevin Kwan’s gloriously wicked new novel reveals the long-buried secrets and rich people problems of Asia’s most privileged families. (less)

Available for purchase on Amazon India, Flipkart, Book Depository and Wordery

