Tags

, , , , , , , ,

19425213_474279999592043_8511955286032908288_n

I already posted a rather large haul a while back. But, as luck would have it, I got a few more books and I cannot wait to share them with you. You would have already seen some reviews of these. Since it is a collective haul I decided to include most of the books I acquired recently including review copies since people say those count too!

First, I got a really good deal on The Essex Serpent on a flipkart sale and I couldn’t help but grab it! Even with shipping it came to less than 200 rupees and that, for a new release new copy, is quite the deal.

The remaining are used copies, I got Sex And The City – you all know what this is about. (Purchased)

  1. The Missing by C.L TaylorWhen fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.
  2. Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine WoodfineThis said “for fans of Enid Blyton” and I got it immediately. No other thought went into it.
  3. The Killing Lessons By Saul Black – I had marked this a while back on a “New releases I’m looking forward to” post but I never got around to getting myself a copy. Glad I found one in great condition at the used book store.
  4. Little Black Lies By Sharon Bolton What’s the worst thing your best friend could do to you? Admittedly, it wasn’t murder. A moment’s carelessness, a tragic accident – and two children are dead. Yours. Living in a small island community, you can’t escape the woman who destroyed your life. Each chance encounter is an agonizing reminder of what you’ve lost – your family, your future, your sanity. How long before revenge becomes irresistible? With no reason to go on living, why shouldn’t you turn your darkest thoughts into deeds?
  5. Dream With Your Eyes Open by Ronnie Screwvala – I heard one of my friends who wants to run a startup talk about how this inspired her. So I thought I’d give it a read.

19931738_169958470211882_4342936329735110656_n

I won’t list everything here since that would take bloody eons. From the left and then from the top down,

  1. In The Name Of God – This is a thriller set in a temple. I am not sure how this will be but I have read the author before and have enjoyed the reads. (Purchased)
  2. Demon Hunters Of Chottanikkara – A supernatural thriller set in Kerala. As I am sure you can tell, it is about Demon Hunters in Chottanikkara (Review copy)
  3. Lone Fox Dancing– An autobiography of one of the most loved authors in India. I grew up reading Ruskin Bond and cannot help but be excited and nervous about reading this (review copy)
  4. Sonnets from the Portuguese – This is from the peter pauper collection and I got my hands on this copy at Blossoms Bangalore. (Purchased)
  5. The Matsya Curse – Another supernatural thriller that I’ve started reading. So far it is interesting and I hope it continues to be so. (Review Copy)
  6. YestertalesThis is a collection of historical fables for a younger audience. The author is from my state and has done, from what I hear, a brilliant translation of Ponniyan Selvan. I have started reading this as well and it is adorable. (Review Copy)
  7. Star Of India – Another book from Alice Perrin. I started this but wasn’t in the mood for it. Hopefully I can get to it soon. (Review Copy)
  8. Little Black Book – I have already reviewed this here.
  9. Going Postal – I don’t need to introduce this book or the author to anyone. I am jsut glad I finally got my hands on a copy and you can bet on me reading this soon. (Purchased)
  10. Centre Court – I know nothing about this. I got a copy fro a friend and hopefully, it is good. (gift)
  11. Aavarana – This is a rather famous book among Kannada readers. Since I can’t read Kannada I got the translation. I have already finished it and rate is a strong 5 Stars. (Purchased)
  12. Goat Days – Resh from TheBookSatchel recommended this to me when I asked for books from Kerala. I bought a used copy from a friend who was getting rid of it. (Purchased)
  13. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Murakami needs no introduction and this is one of his non fictions. I got this in a Book Swap.
  14. Vamshavriksha – This is by the same author who wrote Aavarana and I hope it is as good as that. I cannot find any information online about it but it sounds pretty good! (Purchased)
  15. Journey To The City Of Six Gates – Again, I know nothing about this but my mum wanted it so I grabbed it. (Purchased)
  16. The Year Of The Runaways – I have heard a lot of good things about Sunjeev Sahota so I thought I’d give this a try. Its a gorgeous hardback and I hope it is better than friends who’ve seen me with it tell me it is. (Purchased)

I couldn’t find certain copies to take a picture of so I may have omitted a few. One of them is Still Alice which I got in a swap and the other that I can remember is The Shah Of Chicago.

That’s my haul folks. Needless to say that is enough books for the rest of the year….maybe my whole life. But I really am glad I got my hands on these. Have you read any? Do any intrigue you? Let me know in the comments below!

PS – If you are in India and would like to enter to win a copy of Loyal Stalkers check this post out.

