Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well, technically these aren’t all posts of the day but these are posts I discovered/read today and thought I would share with you!

Have you heard of Kate Young and The Little Library Cafe? I hadn’t till this morning when I went searching for a Harry Potter recipe. I found her page on The Guardian and I’ve travelled the bottomless internet hole like Alice in wonderland. She’s got recipes from every books she’s read that features an interesting one and I am most psyched to try (eggless versions of) the Rock Cakes, Salted Caramel Brownies and Raspberry and Coconut Cakes. The last one is from The Essex serpent which I just purchased and I have to make some of these and eat it while reading them.

29283884

Then, of course, there is the new releases of the day post from Goodreads. I am really excited for The Gentleman’s Guide To Vice And Virtue (sounds like some sort of magazine for men from the Victorian times, doesn’t it?)

One of my favourite bloggers (GrabTheLapels) wrote a rather important blogpost on Triggers and Content Choices that I seriously urge you to read immediately.

Another favourite blogger of mine whom you all probably already follow, Crimebythebook, posted today’s new crime releases and they’ve all already gone into my wishlist.

9781101871515

As for books I recently added to my wishlist, the first one is My Brother’s Husband from Pantheon Books. Okay the synopsis confused me a little but I could NOT help but fall in love with the first few pages they had a preview of. “Yaichi is a work-at-home suburban dad in contemporary Tokyo; formerly married to Natsuki, father to their young daughter, Kana. Their lives suddenly change with the arrival at their doorstep of a hulking, affable Canadian named Mike Flanagan, who declares himself the widower of Yaichi’s estranged gay twin, Ryoji. Mike is on a quest to explore Ryoji’s past, and the family reluctantly but dutifully takes him in. What follows is an unprecedented and heartbreaking look at the state of a largely still-closeted Japanese gay culture: how it’s been affected by the West, and how the next generation can change the preconceptions about it and prejudices against it.”

9781101907832

And this gorgeous collection of French Poetry translated into English featuring poems from medieval to modern times. “From the troubadours of the Middle Ages to the titans of modern poetry, from Rabelais and Ronsard to Aimé Césaire and Yves Bonnefoy, French Poetry offers English-speaking readers a one-volume introduction to a rich and varied tradition. Here are today’s rising stars mingling with the great writers of past centuries: La Fontaine, François Villon, Christine de Pizan, Marguerite de Navarre, Louise Labé, Baudelaire, Rimbaud, Verlaine, Mallarmé, Apollinaire, and many more. Here, too, are representatives of the modern francophone world, encompassing Lebanese, Tunisian, Senegalese, and Belgian poets, including such notable writers as Léopold Senghor, Vénus Khoury-Ghata, and Hédi Kaddour. Finally, this anthology showcases a wide range of the English language’s finest translators—including such renowned poet-translators as Ezra Pound, Marianne Moore, John Ashbery, and Derek Mahon—in a dazzling tribute to the splendors of French poetry.”

That’s all for today! See you in a bit when I post my review of The Door by Margaret Atwood.

 

