Tags

, ,

19228254_121916555062080_6312600579264741376_nIf you follow me on twitter or instagram you’ll know that I was asking for used bookstore recommendations while on holiday and I got a few, quite a few infact. I couldn’t go to most of them but I had set aside two to visit and I managed to make a quick trip to one of them.

I grabbed all of the above for just 500 rupees. If you need some perspective that is 7.75$. Which is a heck of a deal, I think.

Listed are :

Blackberry Wine by Joanne Harris – Everyone has heard of this book so there’s no need for me to explain why I grabbed it now, is there?

The Door by Margaret Atwood : With a wickedly sharp sense of the funny, underpinned by a wordly sagacity, this is a collection of poetry about love, about growing older, about family, and about writing. (I have already started reading this and by god it is beautiful!)

Paprika by Yasutaka Tsutsui. This is a magnificent amalgamation of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Thriller genres into one Japanese masterpiece. Or atleast I’m hoping it’s a masterpiece. But I love Japanese authors so naturally I grabbed this.

The Night Bookmobile by Audrey Niffenegger – I have heard so much about her that I am almost sad that i haven’t read anything by her already. I saw this and immediately picked it up. It was the most expensive of the lot, a 100 rupees, but I loved the story and it is a graphic novel after all. The art sucks though.

Then We Came To An End by Joshua Ferris – Hard to describe so I’ll just copy paste the back cover, “No one knows us quite the same way as the men and women who sit beside us in department meetings and crowd the office refrigerator with their labelled yogurts. Every office is a family of sorts, and the ad agency Joshua Ferris brilliantly depicts in his debut novel is family at its strangest and best, coping with a business downturn in the time-honoured way: through gossip, pranks, and increasingly frequent coffee breaks.”

Spiral (Ring 2) by Koji SuzukiIt wouldn’t be me shopping if I didn’t accidentally grab book two of something and that is exactly what I did here. On the upside I have good reason to grab book one now.

Delicate Edible Birds: And Other Stories by Lauren Groff : This book includes nine stories of vastly different styles and structures. “L. De Bard and Aliette” recreates the tale of Abelard and Heloise in New York during the 1918 flu epidemic; “Lucky Chow Fun” returns to Templeton, the setting of Groff’s debut novel, for a contemporary account of what happens to outsiders in a small, insular town; the title story of “Delicate Edible Birds” is a harrowing, powerfully moving drama about a group of war correspondents, a lone woman among them, who fall prey to a frightening man in the French countryside while fleeing the Nazis. With a dazzling array of voices and settings, “Delicate Edible Birds” will cement Lauren Groff’s reputation as one of the foremost talents of her generation.

Spoonful of Grey by Diana Romany : I’ve no clue what this is about. It is a short story collection I think. But I loved the cover and had to grab it immediately.

The Postmistress by Sarah Blake : I have seen this around a lot but never though much of it then I spotted it here, nestled among other books for weight and couldn’t help myself. It says historical fiction afterall!

Swamplandia! by Karen Russell – Mercy from Mercy’s Bookish Musings raved about this. ‘nuff said.

The First Person and Other Stories by Ali Smith. Ali Smith needs no introduction. This will be my second book of hers. I started Boy Meets Girl but never finished it, got occupied with something else if I recall correctly so this might just give me the push.

Ours Are the Streets by Sunjeev Sahota – Everyone has heard of Sunjeev Sahota and his The Year Of The Runaways. Now, while I couldn’t get that in this shop, I found this and what a find it was I love this edition and it’s gorgeous French flaps. Can’t wait to read it.

Finally, Tokyo: All Alone in the Big City by Graham Marks. I have a feeling I’m going to hate this one. I was pulled in by the cover, so much so that I just grabbed it and put it on the scales without checking the author’s name. I thought it was Japanese, alas it isn’t. Now I’m not sure I should read it. What do you think?

That’s all for my haul. Do any of these interest you? These books are all available on Flipkart, Wordery and Book Depository if you feel like grabbing them.

