Tags

, , , , , ,

cover113221-medium

  • Author : Wendy Walker
  • Publisher : St.Martin’s Press
  • Genre : Mystery, Thriller
  • Source : Netgalley
  • Rating : 4.5/5

Emma in the night is not a book I thought I would enjoy as much as I did. I mean, two girls run away and ne comes back? It sounded pretty okay to me but when I requested this I was hungry for a thriller and the cover drew me in so, I gave it a go and thankfully my requested was approved. THANKFULLY! Because this book is damn good, twisty and turny and oh my god you won’t see it coming!

Okay, so the story goes this way. Emma and Cass vanish one night from their mother and step father’s house. At the same time. People believe they ran away together some believe otherwise. They are said to have had a fight about a necklace, one that the mother got for Emma but not for Cass. Then three years later one of them comes back with an unbelievable story about what happened and why. Now they have to try and rescue Emma and everyone is rallying around Cass but one person, Dr.Abby Winter, doesn’t think her story quite adds up.

Doesn’t that sound like a normal criminal minds story? I thought so too. But damn it is so much more messed up than that! You’ll have to read it to believe it! The author uses a lot of psychological tools in this, I assume she is either impressive at research or she has a psychological background because (and you know how much I hate comparisons) this makes the messed up family in Gone Girl almost seem normal. Each character has a secret to hide, each one has an ulterior motive, even Cass, and each one will do anything to strong arm the others, even their family, to get their way.

As you can imagine this makes for a pretty messed up family dynamic and that is what the author does so well, messed up families.  She writes each character so well that even though you aren’t reading from other POV’s you can still picture each character clearly in your mind’s eye. Well done. *Insert applause* (I don’t know coding so that will have to suffice)

WHAT I LIKED : The author uses a masterful storytelling technique, switching between two perspectives (Cass and Dr.Winter) as each one narrates what happens since the day of Cass’ return till the whole story is uncovered. We go from Cass telling us what happened after they disappeared and how the people around her react to Dr.Winter telling us how Cass behaves and weather she finds it suspicious or not. It’s obvious from the beginning that someone in the house is to blame for what happened so me mentioning that wouldn’t be a spoiler but I shan’t say who it is.  All I will say is that the way the story ended is a bloody masterstroke! I, who usually suspects every single person from the beginning, couldn’t figure out who was actually responsible. So she held the suspense till even after the twists were revealed to reveal more twists that you didn’t think existed! And it only helps how much of an unreliable narrator Cass is, the exception being you know Cass is an unreliable narrator.

WHAT I DISLIKED : The book was a 5 star book till 98%. Then it got a tiny bit draggy. A pity that it had to drag out at that point when it could have been revealed a little faster without all that much introspection on the character’s parts. So I took away half a star.

I’ll just say that if you like Gon…….good thrillers you will love this. It is family story meets creepy as all hell thriller in a might good way and you must read this book.

One night three years ago, the Tanner sisters disappeared: fifteen-year-old Cass and seventeen-year-old Emma. Three years later, Cass returns, without her sister Emma. Her story is one of kidnapping and betrayal, of a mysterious island where the two were held. But to forensic psychiatrist Dr. Abby Winter, something doesn’t add up. Looking deep within this dysfunctional family Dr. Winter uncovers a life where boundaries were violated and a narcissistic parent held sway. And where one sister’s return might just be the beginning of the crime.

Available for preorder on Amazon India, Flipkart, Wordery and Book Depository.

