Tags

, , , , , ,

13597811

These are going to be super quick reviews. I read both these because I fell completely and utterly in love with The White Queen and the currently running, White Princess. I wanted to read the books that the shows were based on and I just had to have my Philippa Gregory fill since it had been a while.

The Lady Of The Rivers : This follows Jacquette, the mother of Elizabeth who marries Edward York. I won’t say much about the story because if you’ve watched the show you know or if you’re aware of England’s history you know the story as well. The writing is typical Gregory style, intriguing and engrossing. She draws you into the story and shows off her main character making you notice all her positives and negatives, leaving you liking and disliking the character, almost as if you knew her personally.

I really liked this more out of the two. Surprising because I thought I would like White Queen a lot more since I enjoyed the show so much. But Jacquetta is such an intriguing character that you can easily fall for her and enjoy reading her story. We follow the story from her witnessing what happens to Joan Of Arc and then till her king, Henry, loses his throne to York brothers. I love historical fiction and this one is very well done. If you’re a fan of the genre, pick this up.

Jacquetta, daughter of the Count of Luxembourg and kinswoman to half the royalty of Europe, was married to the great Englishman John, Duke of Bedford, uncle to Henry VI. Widowed at the age of nineteen she took the extraordinary risk of marrying a gentleman of her household for love, and then carved out a life for herself as Queen Margaret of Anjou’s close friend and a Lancaster supporter – until the day that her daughter Elizabeth Woodville fell in love and married the rival king Edward IV. Of all the little-known but important women of the period, her dramatic story is the most neglected. With her links to Melusina, and to the founder of the house of Luxembourg, together with her reputation for making magic, she is the most haunting of heroines.

Available for purchase on Amazon India, Flipkart, Book Depository or Wordery.

6784131

The White Queen : I am not sure about this because this is the first time I enjoyed a show more than the book. This has never happened before and I’m wondering if this happened because I watched the show first. The show was so much more vivid and beautiful although I have to say Jacquette was one of my favourite characters here and any portion she featured in was really exciting and engrossing.

I would say that while I liked this it is mainly because I have a weakness for the genre and the author. Not to mention the country these stories are set in. But if you aren’t I’d say skip this and go watch the show. I’m sure it’s available on Netflix or something.

The White Queen tells the story of a woman of extraordinary beauty and ambition who, catching the eye of the newly crowned boy king, marries him in secret and ascends to royalty. While Elizabeth rises to the demands of her exalted position and fights for the success of her family, her two sons become central figures in a mystery that has confounded historians for centuries: the missing princes in the Tower of London whose fate is still unknown. From her uniquely qualified perspective, Philippa Gregory explores this most famous unsolved mystery of English history, informed by impeccable research and framed by her inimitable storytelling skills.With The White Queen, Philippa Gregory brings the artistry and intellect of a master writer and storyteller to a new era in history and begins what is sure to be another bestselling classic series from this beloved author.

Available for purchase on Amazon India, Flipkart, Book Depository or Wordery.

Sorry for the super quick reviews, I’m just trying to check off books from my backlist and I’m sorta busy right now. But do tell me if you’re read any of these before!

