Tags

, , , , ,

29932639

  • Publisher : Random House
  • Genre : Science Fiction
  • Source : Borrowed
  • Rating : 3/5 Stars

Yes, I know, this book is rated highly by most other people on my goodreads friends list. I thought I would adore it as much as they did! Alas, it was not to be. I found this to be long and draggy and the only reason I could probably finish it was because it was in audio form. If it had been a paperback I may have finished it, if it were an ebook, I would have DNFed it 10 pages in. Which is a pity because I have the next book in kindle format from Netgalley. Sigh. This isn’t to say there are no redeeming factors in the book, hey I rated it three stars didn’t i? The problem is that scifi is simply not my genre and this book, told in interview form, which would usually be the form I enjoyed most, doesn’t work well for me with the genre. The closest I have come to enjoying Scifi would be The Martian, so if that is what you’ve read in scifi as well, go in with low expectations.

WHAT I LIKED : The format. The story is told in a series of interviews and conversations with an unnamed narrator. And if you believe some conspiracy theories, like I do, you will adore how this story turns out. Technically there are no “main characters” in the film. There are many characters that the story follows, first one being the scientist Rose. But then it jumps around from the Canadian French Vincent Couture with an adorable accent to a kickass female fighting pilot, Kara Resnik, who is stubborn as a mule and that is what makes her awesome.  I liked how the characters were written out, a cold heart geneticist whose name I can’t spell, a loveable scientist you can’t help but root for even though she doesn’t appear in the story as much as you would expect her to.  Best of all is Ryan Mitchell and Kara Resnik, who work really well together as a team.

Since I listened to it in audiobook that is what I will review. The narrators are absolutely brilliant and since it’s such a big cast it feels like listening to these interviews as if they were real! Thoroughly enjoyable in audio form and i seriously recommend you listen to it in this form if you haven’t. It almost feels like it was meant for this, like those old school radio shows that used to be done back in the day (which I really miss!)

WHAT I DISLIKED : The robot itself isn’t well described. I mean, it is described, you know what it looks like, but you can’t necessarily feel it. Am I making sense? What I mean is, I felt the story was more about the US government and unnamed characters who hold the world’s fate in their hands more than it was about the robot. Truth be told I don’t think I even remember much about it except a portion about it’s knees that I won’t explain here.

There are horrifying portions but the whole thing was written in this sterile unemotional way that you really feel like you were in some top secret government lab but while that worked for most portions, I wish it hadn’t been that way for others. Like I said, Kara and Ryan are my favourite characters and I will read on to see what happens to them but honestly, if they weren’t there I wouldn’t be picking this book up again because it didn’t make me care enough.

I will reiterate that Science Fiction isn’t my genre. Not in the slightest! But, if you want a rookie’s POV this is what it is. Read if you regularly read Scifi, avoid if it isn’t for you. But I will mention that this will be perfect for people who enjoyed All The Birds In The Sky.

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.
Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artefact remains unsolved – its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.
But some can never stop searching for answers.
Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top-secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unravelling history’s most perplexing discovery – and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

Available for purchase on Amazon India, Flipkart, Book Depository and Wordery.

