Tags

, , , , , , , ,

23125266

  • Author : Clare Mackintosh
  • Publisher : Sphere (intl) Hachette India( Local)
  • Genre : Contemporary Fiction, Thriller
  • Source : Purchased Copy
  • Rating : 3/5 Stars

I let you go by Clare Mackintosh is a book that was hyped about a lot. And for just that reason I refused to pick it up till the hype died down. Which is what I did, I bought the book a month ago and read it during the Deweys readathon. The story follows Jenna Gray following an accident that changes her life. Her life hasn’t exactly been great so far even though she has done her best to make do with what she has and this accident was probably the final straw. She escapes her reality and hides away in a little village that is a 100 miles from where she used to live, makes sure no one can contact her and makes sure that no one knows anything about her.

The story is divided into two parts. Part one is rather slow and described Jenna’s relocation in a bit of detail. From getting on the bus to setting up home, to eating pie and acquiring a friend or two. We follow her fears and are a bit worried about said fears, we worry as she tries hard to make something for herself and we hope for the town people to like her. Clare Mackintosh really knows how to write slowly and take the reader into her characters’ lives. But the thing you expect fro thrillers, speed and action, isn’t there. And that might be the biggest thing lacking in this story.

WHAT I LIKED : I really enjoyed how the author took us deep into Jenna’s life. How she showed us what was happening, each little incident, even a small meeting with a friend. This made a slow and atmospheric read, not atmospheric like literary fiction but atmospheric enough for a thriller. The author seems to be following a rather Nordic noir style of fiction but not quite. Since I enjoy that genre I enjoyed this mix of traditional fiction with Nordic noir. Jenna’s character is well written, she has taken care not to give away anything except maybe glimpses where you wonder what the hell is going on.

Part two is where the speed is and you won’t be keen on putting this book down.Of course I was reading it for a readaton so I may have felt that way because of that but I will admit, the second half was faster than the first even thought I preferred the first half. If you do not enjoy this slow build up this isn’t the book for you. But I do recommend it for a casual and cozy read.

WHAT I DISLIKED : The story not being clear from the start might put people off, causing them to DNF it. One review I read on goodreads seems to have DNFed the book and ripped it apart. I wish there had been more of a hint. I also didn’t like how impersonal it seemed. Parts of it were cheesy and cliché and that could have been better. The only issue I had with all the hype was they kept telling me there were twists and turns and I couldn’t see the twists and turns. It found them predictable and don’t really know why it was so hyped.

Having said that, it isn’t a bad book. I know I will reread it at some point, if not for the excitement factor, because of the cozy feeling part one gave me. Also TRIGGER WARNING if you have been in an abusive relationship, avoid this if you’re worried about anxiety.

In a split second, Jenna Gray’s world descends into a nightmare. Her only hope of moving on is to walk away from everything she knows to start afresh. Desperate to escape, Jenna moves to a remote cottage on the Welsh coast, but she is haunted by her fears, her grief and her memories of a cruel November night that changed her life forever. Slowly, Jenna begins to glimpse the potential for happiness in her future. But her past is about to catch up with her, and the consequences will be devastating . . .

Available for purchase on Amazon India, Flipkart, Book Depository, Wordery.

