Tags

, , , , , , ,

31451222

Crimson Volania Mulch is the protagonist here, a little girl who wakes up in a crypt and cannot remember anything but her name and her mother. (Can’t lie, I had to recheck her name on goodreads). She wakes up in a strange world where she comes across a vampire boy, a were wolf girl with rocking hair, a fish boy who is just the sweetest thing ever and a witch girl who thinks she’s all that. Together they go on a little adventure and Crimson slowly tries to recover her memories. There’s a tiny bit of puppy romance (just a crush, don’t worry), friendships and friendly and unfriendly ghosts and the best of all, a gigantic library!

WHAT I LIKED : The art. Of colourful purple goodness, I don’t think I could tear my eyes away from these beautiful pages! Each one was enthralling and eye catching, the characters were so beautifully done and yes I know this is a middle grade book but I had to admit, I felt like a kid on an adventure again. As for the story, as an adult reader it is a bit hard to feel excited by the adventurous surprises since it is a done and dusted thing. But I am sure a younger audience, the one that this book in intended for, will find it exciting.

I loved how Crimson places more value in her friendships than some guy who may possibly be interesting to her or interested in her. The way they behaved with each other was heart warming and it’s obvious the author was trying to pass on a message to youngsters without coming across as patronising. I’m sure the message could have been stronger  but I enjoyed it for what it was and I’d definitely recommend this if not for one aspect. Which brings me to…..

WHAT I DISLIKED : There’s just one thing I didn’t like. One thing and while it may be considered a spoiler if I tell you the whole situation, it won’t if I just tell you the line. There’s this guy who doesn’t actually do anything wrong but he behaves unkindly and she’s angry with him. Later she says, “I want to be mad at him but he’s so pretty and mysterious.”

Because of this one line I won’t buy this for anyone. I think it encourages the “forgive the guy because he’s handsome” trope that we see so much in romances and YA books these days. I don’t think that’s a healthy thing to encourage from a young age and I will be careful if I were to pick this up. If you think the situation is okay then go ahead and pick it up. Except for that one line coming in just one panel, I loved this and definitely would recommend.

Crimson Volania Mulch has a problem; she just woke up in a crypt and, besides her name, has no idea of who, where, or what she is. Welcome to the Cemetery of Assumptions, a vast landscape of stones, mausoleums, and secrets. Home to monsters and mayhem, it may also hold the answers to her unknown parentage.
Crimson is a resourceful patchwork girl and determined to find them. Along the way, she meets the mysterious Wisteria, who has a tendency to change and a witch named Parameter whose spells tend to go awry. And two boys, Simon and Quinton, who make her feel something besides lost and confused. She must battle ghosts, zombies, and monsters in order to learn where she came from and who her real “mother” is. But will she do it alone, or will she have help from her new friends and unexpected crushes?

