Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1467423929505123774_2178434400I have been wanting to write a book since I was 12 years old. I have written two. Both of them rejected because I wasn’t writing about what I wanted to write about. I was writing the kinds of books that I thought people would like, one about a popular rich girl who had everything except a guy and the other also about a popular rich girl who had everything except a guy. I found it so hard to finish each one because it felt unnatural. But the stories I wrote for myself were so easy to do and I enjoyed them so much. I was just sure it wouldn’t ever be accepted for publishing. So, I needed a little help. And when I saw that this book was up for review on Writersmelon, I requested it immediately.

Kissing The Demon is a book to help the writer in you become the writer others can see in you and maybe read too. It is perfectly set up for the Indian publishing scene and also gives you all the advice needed for here that international books won’t do. Divided conveniently into various parts like Narration Techniques, POVs, getting ready to publish, getting over writers block an the most important of all, how to prepare your book to send to a publisher. And each one is crisp and concise, written just to get the point across with a big of humour thrown in.

What I liked the most about this is the author tells you the differences between the publishing scene in India and the one abroad. The things you need to take into account while sending out your books here and the differences between the language we now use in Indian literature. The advice given is so easy to understand and helpful that I started writing my next book that I’ve ben wanting to write for three years now, immediately. I’m writing it right now and I’m about 6000 words in at the time of writing this post.

My review is short yes but that’s simply because I have no clue what to say about a book that I rated five stars. I just have to say that if you are having trouble putting your book down on paper, get this book and you’ll probably start off immediately.

34098683Do you have a great story to tell but don t know where to begin or how to give it shape?
Whether you re an aspiring writer or a seasoned one, a writer of fiction or narrative non-fiction, Kissing the Demon will help you navigate the maze of plot construction, narrative viewpoint, character development, dialogue creation and description even while allowing your imagination to flow.
Written by an editor and publisher who has for over four decades nurtured some of India s finest writers, it also tackles the insular world of publishers, agents, contracts and editors. It tells you how to find a publisher or agent, what gets a publisher s attention and what turns it off all the stuff writers take years to learn. Finally, it offers solutions to the vexing issue of balancing everyday life with writing, a problem every writer faces and the reason why so many books remain unwritten.

Available for purchase from Amazon India and Flipkart.

I received a copy from Writersmelon in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

