Tags

, , , ,

33830449

I don’t think this lived up to my expectations! I did have high expectations based off the cover art but the characters and the story just didn’t do it for me. The story follows three mages as they are sent to check out some suspicious illness in a town nearby. When they get there it seems bigger than what they set out to do and the bickering students have to get along to save themselves.

It was all very okay. I don’t actually remember who is who and honestly, I don’t particularly care. My issue with this was that it purely didn’t engross or involve me in the story. I thought the art was absolutely beautiful. I thought the story was a lot of fun and went along with the art work very well but the characters were okay and nothing about them was interesting or appealing once I shut the book. Mostly, they were like bickering children, which would have been perfectly okay if they’d provided a certain amount of backstory.

The interesting thing about this story though is that it pits magic against the machines creating a very interesting scifi fantasy story. I haven’t seen that before except maybe in All The Birds In The Sky (which I also thought was just okay.) so there is that uniqueness in this Graphic Novel. I have nothing more to say so I’m closing my review now. What can you say about a book that you think is an okay read but no big deal? Read this if you’re bored and have nothing else to read.

It’s Mage against the Machine! Magic vs technology in Roar’s newest graphic novel. When three apprentice mages are sent to help a neighboring guild, they reignite a decades-old war with a robot army that has destroyed the world.

*I received a copy via netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Opinions expressed are my own.

