Tags

, , ,

30754981This was a very enjoyable Graphic Novel. I wouldn’t call it a memorable one but certainly enjoyable. I don’t have a child, I don’t particularly care about or want children, but my cousins do and my best friend does and this made me think about everything they tell me about having a child and chuckle.

The art is in signature Lunarbaboon style, easy and cartoony but it is what makes this whole thing a lot more pleasant. Yes, a perfect addition to a coffee table but also something you can read while bored or suffering from a heavy book hangover. Yes there are some serious topics, especially about mental health, mentioned here but it is still done in a lighthearted manner and while not everything was as funny as I hoped, it did provide an overall break from my other relatively heavy reads and I’m really glad I got a copy.

A perfect gift for would be parents, maybe hand it to someone at a baby shower? I’m probably going to get a copy of this for my bestie before her baby turns three.

We All Have Powers shares life’s parenting moments from the perspective of a 30-something man/father/husband/chaos survivor. Together with the savvy, laid back Mom, wild child Moishe, baby Matilda, and a former Julliard student (their cat), Lunarbaboon must navigate the family and social dynamics of everyday life. Ranging from the hilarious (defeating closet monsters with a “stun” blaster that offers surprising facts about bears, Mars, and cats) to the sweet (the gray scale-to color transition out of depression at the touch of a loved one), this collection explores the bonds within a family and all the characters who bring both order and chaos to life.

I received a review copy from netgalley but opinions expressed are my own.

