Tags

, , , ,

24298667Jude is the main character here and he is not what he seems to be. Yes he is a special snowflake but not the way you think. Life is boring and dull for Jude, everyday is exactly the same and his entire life has this whole sepia tone to it. Not literally, figuratively. There is this woman he sees everyday and she wants to talk to her but never does, then one day he gathers up his courage and tries to return a hanky she drops and everything goes wrong.

STORY

This story is almost right up my alley. It’s got Earnest Hemingway as a character, a doggie buddy and Jude who can see into people’s past and freak the living crap out of them. The only negative, for me personally, was that I felt like I was missing something. Like a something between the lines that I would have understood if I was a Christian or if I knew something about the bible. I’m not and so I think I missed out on a lot of inside info that others who are would get.

I did enjoy the story without that though and I strongly encourage you to pick this up if you like dystopian type stories and graphic novels with lots of discoveries and good against evil and what not. The pacing isn’t tense or frantic but it does have a smooth flow to it that made it very enjoyable and I’m glad I read it.

ART

The artwork is basically what you see on the cover but a little more earthy and raw. That’s the way to describe it. There are a lot of warm browns and cool greys in it and while it is pleasant to see, it gives off this cluttered vibe which really goes with the story. The artist is Gabo, someone I’ve never heard of before but then again I’m not someone who keeps track of all the illustrators there are. But I really liked the art and I’ll want to keep track of this artist’s future works.

My review is very short but that’s because I don’t really know what else to say. I don’t want to give away too much because it’s not included in the synopsis and I don’t know if it’s a spoiler. So I shall leave with saying, this is a fun little graphic novel if you’re looking for a light read to pass the time.

Jude’s life is nothing special. It seems like every day is just a repeat of the last one, until one day, he meets a woman and can suddenly see into her past — revealing that he is actually in Purgatory for suicides. Now that he’s awake, he and the legendary Ernest Hemingway are on the path to change things in the afterlife for the better. Of course, that might not sit very well with the bigwigs down below or up above. Can just a few people change the course of billions of souls?

*I received a copy via netgalley but opinions expressed are completely my own.

