Tags

, , ,

p12914590_b_v8_aa

I’ve just finished watching this and honestly, its weird man. It’s damn weird! It seems like the show writers or makes have changes the story and the characters however the hell they wanted to. And I’m betting on the fact that the show gets cancelled and fails. Not because I want it to, god knows I really needed this to be a success and for it to be brilliant.

THE CAST

The actors, apart from Archie himself, seem to be completely out of place in their roles. I thought Betty looked like Veronica would and Veronica looks like…..Midge maybe? (Don’t get me wrong, she’s a good actor, just the face seems more like a Veronica face) Naturally I’m a big fan of the comics, I’ve been reading them since I was a kid and could steal my oldest sister’s comics when she was out with her friends during holidays. So for me, personally, the cast was completely and utterly off. You would probably not feel the same if you haven’t read a single comic but if you have, the cast is a no go. My thoughts are summed up in this one person’s comment on a Reddit thread.

THE STORY

Basically this is…..Pretty Little Liars but a little more amateur. The story follows what happens in Riverdale high after one of their richest star students, Jason Blossom, dies a rather untimely death while on the lake early morning. The body wasn’t recovered and they had to bury an empty coffin. And then, a new year starts at Riverdale High with a new student, Veronica Lodge.

Again, this would be perfectly okay if this was a random TV show that doesn’t desecrate a ridiculously popular and cherished comic book series and characters but it does. It screws with relationships and shows people doing things that they wouldn’t. I would have been okay with that, again, if they have stuck to the basics in the original story.

THOUGHTS

I won’t be watching the rest of the season or the rest of the show. I was looking forward to it a lot and the show completely and utterly let me down. I don’t want to feel upset every time I see this so, nope. A pity. I’ll have to find another show to be obsessed with this summer. Thankfully there are a few good Korean ones coming up and a couple of European ones as well.

Have you watched episode 1? What did you think of it?

