Tags

, , , ,

29230623

It’s All Absolutely Fine is a graphic novel that focusses on mental health issues. Filled with line drawings and doodles to showcase how one feels when suffering from anxiety and depression, it’s a quick and easy read that anyone who has gone through these things can relate to. Now the author, Ruby Elliot a.k.a Rubyetc, is very popular on tumblr. I’m not one of her followers and I definitely didn’t even know who she was so this was my very first experience with her style of writing or art.

WRITING & ART

It took a while to get into, I’ll be honest. I didn’t know this was going to be the art style (stupid of me, it’s obvious from the cover) so I was a little “Meh” for the first few pages. But then I ignored the lack of……colours and definition and focussed on the art in connection to what she was writing about and it made a whole lot of sense. It’s filled with in your face, no I won’t hold back, writing of what it’s like to be someone with mental health issues and especially as someone with anxiety and depression I could completely relate to them all.

Yes, my issues aren’t as intense as portrayed here but it’s only now that I’ve figured out what my problem was all along and this really helped me in the process of getting to know it a little better. She talks about how it feels to meet someone new (accidentally telling them your life story in a panic and then realising what you’ve done) and wanting to get out (one has to have a social life for that) and wanting to achieve things in life (with your brain constantly telling you that you are worthless). This book was something I definitely needed in my life.

As for people who don’t have these issues, I don’t think they can relate to it. I told my friend one of the bits in here and she just looked completely puzzles so….that’s there. I’d definitely recommend this book if you want to feel a little less alone out there or if you want to relate to what someone dear to you is going through. But only if you have the sense of humour that the author has. Otherwise you’ll not be able to get how lovely this books is. I rated this 4/5 stars.

IT’S ALL ABSOLUTELY FINE is a darkly comic, honest and unapologetic illustrated account of the daily struggles with mental health. Ruby Elliot, aka Rubyetc, is the talent behind the hit tumblr account, ‘Rubyetc’, which has over 210k followers and growing. Taking readers on a journey through the ups and downs of life, the book will encompass everything from anxiety, bipolar disorder and body image to depression and identity, shining a light on very real problems – all framed with Ruby’s trademark humour and originality.
Ruby balances mental health with humour, making serious issues accessible – and very funny. With the superb talent to capture the essence of human emotion (and to make you laugh out loud), this book is as important and necessary as it is entertaining. IT’S ALL ABSOLUTELY FINE will include mostly never-before-seen material, both written and illustrated, and will be an empowering book that will make you laugh, make you think, and make things ok.

*I received a copy via netgalley in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are completely my own.

