Tags

, , , , , ,

The Housekeeper And The Professor isn’t really an easy read. Well, it is, but only if you enjoy math. I still rated it 4 stars because it was enjoyable despite the fact that I despise math. The story follows a housekeeper who’s been hired by a woman through an agency to take care of her brother in law who has a considerable health issue.

His memory, due to an accident, resets itself every 80 minutes and he cannot remember anything beyond the day of the accident. The housekeeper at first has a tiny amount of difficulty understanding this but she soon adapts where other housekeepers have failed and they develop a strange friendship. One where he can’t remember her or her son and where she feels like she knows him well.

Tasks aren’t easy as they normally would be but somehow his gentleness and civility largly outweigh the problems his health put forth and soon they settle into a rhythm of sorts. She is quick t remind him of who she and her son are and he quietly accepts this, his mathematical mind leaving him no room for emotional outbursts.

That’s it. That’s the whole story. Nothing more.

I had two problems with this book. One, the sheer number of maths. I have an issue when it comes to math wherein I may be dyslexic with numbers. I’m not sure if I am because there was no testing mechanism when I was in school (google says I am) but numbers blur and muddle in front of my eyes so I had to keep putting this book down anytime there were numbers. I don’t have a problem with numbers but more with formulas and long calculations. I can calculate my taxes etc. It took me more than a month to read this book and yet I enjoyed the story portion of it.

The other problem I had was the maths. Haha, you’re thinking I’m an idiot for repeating the same thing right? No, hear me out. It isn’t as though 80 minutes begins when each task begins and the task has to be completed before the outing is done. And there’s a portion where they go to a baseball game. Now correct me if I’m wrong but I believe baseball games last a while, and if you include the travel to the game and back from it, again, it exceeds 80 minutes.

I had to wilfully suspend my disbelief to go on with the story. So I did and I thoroughly enjoyed it. And the professor reminded me of my grandpa so whenever he messed something up I’d cry while thinking of my grandpa (who was great at math and truly shocked at my incompetence with it). I connected with this book on an emotional level. Which is why I rated it four stars. No other reason. I do urge you to read this if you can tolerate math. Else, pick up one of her other books.

Buy on Book Depository, Wordery, Amazon India or Flipkart.

