Tags

, , , , , , ,

chennai_winds_story_647_121416013241

I haven’t posted my previous two week’s Sunday Summaries because I was busy preparing for the Cyclone that was about to hit us and then living through that cyclone and the subsequent connectivity and power issues that followed. So this week I’m including some of the posts I read last week and the week before that as well as a few other things I wanted to share.

POSTS

Here are a few posts that I really enjoyed reading this past week. Starting with a post about White People In Books from Orangutan librarian that I could not agree with more! As she says, while I love diversity in books (Hell I’m Indian and I love reading Indian books) I cannot agree with criticising a book just because it has a white/male/het character. Can’t we just focus on good books and great stories? And instead of shunning white authors just because they are white, support more POC authors because we like their writing? (because by shunning someone for their skin colour you are being just as racist as the people you claim to be against) I read a majority of Indian books so I can’t necessarily make this argument. Do check out her post, it’s awesome!

And while reading the comments on the post above I came across a commenter that I agreed with and hopped onto her blog. And she has written this beautiful post about Gendering Books and how they damage people. Read it, it’s another post that I really agree with and think people should read.

I also did a post of some Indian LGBTQ books that I am personally looking forward to reading. This also includes one Sri Lankan author. I’ve included Sri Lanka in this list because even though it isn’t India, the culture is very similar and the “Societal Rules” are close enough for people here to be able to relate to books set there and vice versa.

BOOKRIOT READ HARER CHALLENGE 2017

  1. Read a book a book about sportsI sort of have this one already. A biography of Sarita Devi. And I’m really excited for it!
  2. Read a debut novelOur Endless Numbered Days
  3. Read a book about booksThe Bookshop Book / Browse (hopefully I can get it.)
  4. Read a book set in central or south America written by an author from there – Recommendations Please
  5. Read a book by an ImmigrantNot really interested but if you have a great recommendation let me know.
  6. Read an all ages comic book – What’s this?
  7. Read a book published between 1900 and 1950 – Okay…….not too hard. Haven’t thought of anything yet but I’ll find one.
  8. Read a  travel memoir – Any suggestions?
  9. Read a book you’ve read before – Okay….Harry Potter or Halahala or Handmaid’s Tale (The TV adaptation is out I believe and I’m going to have to read it again before watching)
  10. Read a book that is set within 100 miles of your location – Not hard. Though it’s been a while since I read a good book set in my city/state.
  11. Read a book that is set more than 5000 miles from your location – Um….. most of the books I read are set 5000 miles from me. Lol.
  12. Read a fantasy book – I’ll be continuing the Aryavartha Chronicles this year, it’s mythology but I believe that comes under the bracket of fantasy for most people. Also reading The Simoqin Prophesies and it’s slow going so I’ll probably only finish it in 2017.
  13. Read a nonfiction book about technology – Suggestions are welcome! Is there a book about how technology sucks?
  14. Read a book about war – Anthony Doerr’s short story collection seems to be set in a war backdrop so that’s one. Also Story Of  A Brief Marriage
  15. Read a YA or Middle Grade book by an author who identifies as LGBTQ+Suggestions please.
  16. Read a book that has been banned or frequently challenged in your country – Satanic verses? I don’t know. I wanted to read Lajja but the reviews have put me off.
  17. Read a classic by an author of colour – I’ll be picking an Indian book.
  18. Read a superhero comic with a female lead –  Any recommendations except Ms.Marvel please.
  19. Read a book in which a character of colour goes on a spiritual journey – I’m reading the alchemist now, does that count?
  20. Read an LGBTQ romance novel – Recommendations please/But I may pick from my previous post about Indian LGBTQ books.
  21. Read a book published by a micropress – Hmmm, have to check thoroughly.
  22. Read a collection of stories by a woman – I’ve done this quite a few times this year and I’ll probably do it next year too.
  23. Read a collection of poetry in translation that isn’t about love – Dancing Earth, an anthology of poetry from the north east, some translated, some not. I can’t wait!
  24. Read a book wherein all POV characters are of colour….. – This isn’t a difficult one so I’m not sure why it’s here. Probably half the books I read in a year are like this!

Are you participating in the read harder challenge?

TV SHOWS

91EBO9QZw2L._SL1500_

I’ve started watching The Fall which is an EnglishTV show about a serial killer and a female detective who is assigned to capture him. It’s really great and so far, I bet by the time this post goes up I’d have finished the last season, it’s a pretty re-watchable show. I’d not say a 5 star show but definitely a 4 star. I’d been missing Dexter so this was a passable replacement. I’m not too big a fan of the actor who plays the killer but then that could just be because I’m too big a fan of Dexter’s portrayal. (Image credit)

First_look_at_Tom_Burke_and_Holliday_Grainger_in_JK_Rowling_adaptation_The_Cuckoo_s_Calling

BBC One has apparently decided to make the Cormoran Strike books into a series and HBO has picked it up as well. Not sure which of this is correct but I’m so excited that it’s happening! The actors so far are Tom Burke as Strike and Holliday Grainger as Robin, I haven’t seen news of anything else but it is a mini series with two 60 minute episodes per book. This sorta bums me out because most of the good portions will be cut out. But then again better short and sweet than long and draggy I’ say! Are you excited for this one? (Image Credit)

That’s all I have for this week. How has your December been? Merry Christmas to those celebrating and New Year to you all!

