Tags

, , , , ,

30848589I’m not sure what to say about this book because I was mostly disappointed by it. yet I still managed to finish it while the power was out during the cyclone. I’d say the main reason i grabbed this was the cover and the fact that there was hardly any natural light and we were going to have power cuts. A thriller, I thought, would be perfect reading during this time because it would be, well, thrilling! Alas, it wasn’t. And I was stuck reading it because it was the only book I had on my kindle.

To say it was disappointing would be an understatement and this is pretty much going to be a rant review. I’ve warned you. There are many rave reviews so I recommend reading those to get a better view of what to expect from this book.

STORY & CHARACTERS

The story is about a murder investigation. Max, a really rich real estate tycoon, has been murdered a mere two months after his marriage to the lovely and not as financially lucky, Alissa. The spouse is, as always, the prime suspect but everyone seems to believe her. All, of course, except the main detective who is one of the two main characters. We follow two POVs, that of the aforementioned Detective and of someone mysteriously called The Other One. The chapters are divided between these two with one trying to solve the murder of Max and the other trying to get away from their abusive household and alcoholic father.

While the detective is believable, a little annoying and cliché but believable, The Other One was not even remotely acceptable. I guess the author was trying to make people feel sorry for the characters but it just came across as cliché after cliché and there’s nothing that actually happens in their lives to warrant their sudden massive transformation. And even the parents, supposedly abusive, don’t seem like they are real. Because, for one, if someone was that abusive the reveal wouldn’t be a reveal at all!

It was interesting to have two points of view, not unique, but interesting because it always give us, the reader, a thorough overview of what’s happening in the story an we get to experience the thrill of watching the other characters try to unravel the thread. But here it didn’t really do that. In the middle of the book we are given information that is withheld from the detectives and this is where the story as supposed to start getting spine chillingly exciting. While the reveal was very unexpected and surprising, it was far from believable and I kept rolling my eyes throughout the story after the reveal. And the last chapter was even more exasperating.

WRITING

The writing was fast and while the pacing was great the problem I had was with the rather odd style of narration. I never felt like I was actually connected with the characters and especially The Other One seemed like the author was reaching a bit. I don’t have much to say about the writing to be perfectly honest, the author seems to be great at pacing her novel well but the writing was far from memorable. It’s the sort of book you can read if there is nothing else to read at the moment. A thriller is supposed to keep you on your toes and while the writing could have done that, the story took away from it a great deal.

And the tropes. I don’t think I’ve used the word tropes in a mystery thriller review but there’s a first time for everything. Heartbroken detective, check. Is he the only one who is righteous, check. Is there another detective who can relate to him? Check. Is the other character abused? Check. Everything was just so tropey that I spend more time sighing in exasperation than exclaiming in shock. I wanted to drop it but read it just to see if the detective ever finds out what really happened.

TO CONCLUDE

I’d recommend this book if you’re extremely great and suspending your disbelief and accepting a story, however far fetched, just because it is entertaining. I don’t think I will be personally reading any more of the author’s work. And while I am sure this book will become a bestseller, people like fantastical and sensational stories, I prefer logical explanations and It’s not for me.

There are three sides to every story: Yours. Mine. And the truth…
Max and Alissa have a fairy tale life—newlywed, madly in love and enviously rich. Then Max is brutally stabbed to death at their home and Alissa, miraculously, escapes with her life. But why was she spared?
The hunt for the killer begins, uncovering a number of leads—was Max’s incredible wealth the motive? Had his shady business practices finally caught up with him? Or was it a stalker with a dangerous obsession?
Devoted friends rally around gentle, sweet Alissa as she is left to mourn the loss of her husband and pick up her life. But not everyone is who they seem…Deep-rooted jealousies, secrets and twisted love lie just beneath the surface, and not all fairy tales have a happy ending.

Available for purchase on book depository and wordery.

*I received a copy from netgalley to read and review, opinions expressed are my own.

