Tags

, , , , , ,

cover100782-mediumGeneration Zero is a comic book series about Generation Zero, a group of vigilante teenagers who’ve been used by a secret agency and have now broken free and escaped. They go around helping others who find a way to contact them and try to right the wrongs in their world.

The blurb says “Years ago, the children of the experimental strike team known as Generation Zero were taken from their families by Project Rising Spirit, a private weapons contractor, and raised to be psychic soldiers. After years of taking orders, they have fought for and won their freedom. Now, the world’s most wanted teenagers have pledged to protect each other tooth and claw, while using their extraordinary abilities to right wrongs for a generation without a future… To fight for kids, just like them.”

And this sounded quite interesting to me, very vigilante and very…..planeteers. Yes, I know, I’m such a child. I really wanted to enjoy this but I did not. I didn’t hate it but I suppose I just felt like I was left floundering? And not in an awesome cliff hanger kind of way but in a forgettable way that’ll make me wonder what this book was about. I did give this a three tar because it was interesting and fun while I was reading it but it wasn’t something I would want to desperately wait for and pick up.

Keisha Sherman is one of the teenagers who contacts, or attempts to contact, Generation Zero after her boyfriend dies in a suspicious car crash that she is sure was not his fault. Though her father, the sheriff, claims he was taking drugs or drunk, Keisha knows he doesn’t do anything of the sort and decides to investigate. This gives her a few clues and she knows the situation is bigger than she can handle and takes to the internet to contact the infamous yet elusive members of Generation Zero.

Sorry this review is very off balance, I didn’t know how else to put it. I have absolutely no problem with the story or the characters, it’s just that they weren’t memorable enough for me to want to read more about. But hey, don’t take my word for it, I’m one of those people who didn’t like Lumberjanes so I suggest you grab this as soon as possible and read for yourself.

*I received a copy from netgalley, opinions expressed are my own.

