Tags

, , , , ,

Our Cats Are More Famous Than Us is a comic book of the misadventures of Ananth Hrish and Yuko Ota, friends, roommates an co-authors of the webcomic Johnny Wander. This graphic novel chronicles moments in their lives that they share with us because it’s fun, hilarious, or just because they felt like it.

I really enjoyed this collection of adorable moments. It’s cute and quirky and I honestly don’t know what to say about a collection I enjoyed but one that isn’t necessarily serious. Let’s talk about the artwork! It starts off monochrome, one colour, in this case pick, and then went to another colour and then another and then black and white and then complete colour and monochrome again. I really liked it, it sort of felt like I was looking at how Yuko reached for the one pen that the kitties weren’t playing with and decided to do a whole section in that.

It is also divided into five parts. Each part is in one apartment, has one theme or has a portion of their lives ending with them……not telling you. I really liked how simple it was. Neatly laid out and easy to flip through at leisure. This isn’t your nail biting, thrill inducing graphic novels, this is more like a coffee table book that you’ll read again and again and never get bored of it.

It is also suitable for all ages. Doesn’t really have anything graphic or disturbing in it and kids might enjoy flipping through the clean “story”. I rated this 5/5 stars and I’ll definitely be saving up for this when it comes out (I bet it’ll cost a bomb in India) so I can reread it at leisure. And make sure my mum and other older people who, like me, don’t like eBooks get to read it too.


cover100780-mediumIn 2008, Ananth Hirsh and Yuko Ota launched the auto-bio webcomic Johnny Wander. Eight years, four cats, and three moves are chronicled in this gorgeous hardcover omnibus, which includes a foreword by Raina Telgemeier (Smile, Ghosts). Hirsh and Ota’s charming reverie about new adulthood will appeal to fans of Kate Beaton, Bryan Lee O’Malley, and Jeffrey Brown—along with anyone who’s just winging it.

Releases 29th March 2017.


I received a copy from Netgalley to read and review.

