Tags

, , , , ,

1369309695168594642_2178434400

October was a rather average month for me in general and a very boring bookish month for me. I read a few nice books but overall it was rather underwhelming. Hopefully November is better.

Working in reverse order I read Skyfire, which is about freak weather attacks and kidnappings in the country, three characters get together and try to solve it. I gave this a 2.5/5 stars. The POV was why I didn’t like it and that’s all on me. Then I read the lovely MS. Subbulakshmi’s biography. This was a very insightful read and the author went places most people wouldn’t. So I definitely enjoyed it. 4/5 stars.

1370008088610154114_2178434400_thumb.jpg

This was preceded by The Meek One which was such an interesting read. And my first Dostoyevsky ever. I gave this 4/5 stars as well and I’m itching to grab one of his other books. Then I read Immortal which was a fun interesting read. Apart from a few slow and draggy bits here and there it was fun and thrilling. very Dan Brown meets Indian mythology. 3.5/5.

1362845676190618440_2178434400_thumb.jpg

Three Dark Crowns and Six Four were both entertaining reads but neither matched the blurb given. TDC sounded like it was about three badass queens who were about to go to war and Six Four sounded like it was about an investigation being reopened and solve after eons. Alas, both weren’t what they claimed to be. I enjoyed them for what they were though and gave this 4/5 and 3/5 respectively.

img_0041

Before that I read books by two women from south India, The High Priestess Never Marries and Anywhere But Home. High Priestess is a collection of short stories, mainly of longing and loss and love. And book two is also about longing but the longing to race and to feel the adrenalin rush. Book one, by Sharanya Manivannan, was absolute magnificence and I have it a rave review. Book two, by and about Anu Vaidhyanathan, was interesting and most of all inspiring. Before that I read dissent, another short story collection but this one wasn’t as memorable as the previous one mentioned.

It’s been a slow month, however I finished my Goodreads goal of 120 books this month so there’s that. Hopefully next month’s books blow my mind.

How did you fare this month?

