Tags

, , , , , ,

As usual, with my sunday summaries, I share some of my favourite posts this week. Articles, news and whatever else you may be interested in. Starting with this wonderful article on The Baileys Prize’s website about six absolutely spooky reads by women that could just give Stephen King a run for his money. Starting with a book that’s already been made into a movie, The Woman In Black. I don’t know about you but I’m planning on reading the book and then watching the movie with my teddy for comfort.

And then I read another lovely article where the Publishers at Virago tell us what books made them feminists. I’ve only read five out of these so I’ll have to pull up my socks and get started on the rest.

If you like Booktags and Gilmore Girls you’ll love this one I read the other day. I haven’t yet watched the Gilmore Girls but if they put so much emphasis on reading it may be a show I’ve got to watch immediately.

And for those of you that love receiving books to read and review, there are a few lovely giveaways going on over at trusty old Goodreads. The Woman Behind The Waterfall s a debut by Leonora Meriel. The story follows 7 year old Angela in Ukraine as she discovers secrets in her family of women. it’s said to be a perfect story of love and loss. Then there’s The House Of Bildeburg by an author who calls themselves The Usual Bohemian (?) and it sounds creepy as all hell.

I’m participating in Nanowrimo this month and I’m really hoping to atleast get 25% of my novel completed. Will it ever get published? I don’t know but if it does, I hope its a bestseller. Like me, if you’re also hoping to write a bestseller, this may just be the video for you. Jonny Geller gives a TED talk about his new book, what makes a bestseller, based on info he has gathered from 50 bestsellers.

The volume really sucks so you’ll need to crank it up for this one.


NEW RELEASES

Here are some amazing books that I’m really looking forward to / curious about.

14980636_1127633037284947_4408670261427040019_n

The third spellbinding story in the bestselling Seven Sisters series. the elusive billionaire, named Pa Salt by his six daughters, all adopted by him from the four corners of the world. He has left each of them a clue to their true heritage, but Star – the most enigmatic of the sisters – is hesitant to step out of the safety of the close relationship she shares with her sister CeCe. In desperation, she decides to follow the first clue she has been left, which leads her to an antiquarian bookshop in London and the start of a whole new world . . .A hundred years earlier, headstrong and independent Flora MacNichol vows she will never marry. She is happy and secure in her home in the Lake District, living close to her idol, Beatrix Potter, when machinations outside her control lead her to London and the home of one of Edwardian society’s most notorious players, Alice Keppel. Flora is pulled between passionate love and duty to her family, but finds herself a pawn in a game – the rules of which are only known to others, until a meeting with a mysterious gentleman unveils the answers that Flora has been searching for her whole life . . .


A1u1gH7u3YLA lovely friend of mine, Ishita Sood, insists that I read some of Camilleri’s books and I’ve already got them on my list but here is a new release from him for those who want to read italian books or short stories. A personal anthology of Andrea Camilleri’s favourite short stories, all starring the much loved Inspector Montalbano.Montalbano’s First Case and Other Stories is a brilliant collection of short stories, personally chosen by Andrea Camilleri, following Inspector Montalbano from his very first case in Vigàta, in which he stumbles upon a young girl lurking outside a courthouse with a pistol in her handbag. When she is taken in for questioning and won’t utter a single word, Montalbano must find another way to learn who she is trying to kill and why . . .Other cases include a missing woman who has run away from the love of her life; an old married couple who appear to be rehearsing their suicides and a crime so dark there’s only one person the inspector can call for help.With twists and turns aplenty, these short stories have all the wit, mystery and culinary gusto that Camilleri’s fans have come to love him for.


In other bookish news, PanMac are also coming out with the beautiful editions of our favourite classics. Check them out below.

I hope you found these interesting and informative. How did you weekend go?

