Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

1370008088610154114_2178434400

Hey you!!! How was your week? things have been very topsy turvy here with Diwali just going by and having to make sweets and snacks and buying new clothes and meeting family, it is all so engrossing that I haven’t had much time to read. I did finish Immortal by Krishna Udayasankar and will be posting the review as part of the Immortal Blog Tour that’s going on right now. I also got my hands on some of the Little Black Classics (finally!) and also bought a few more books. A collective haul post will be coming soon but above is a sneak peek of some of the books I got.

Also, BookstagramChat happened and if you don’t know, me and Resh (TheBookSatchel) regularly host Bookstagramchat over on our twitter accounts and this time the topic was Authors and their instagram accounts. It was super fun and we had some amazing authors join us and provide us with so much insight. We also had some lovely authors join us, Claire Fuller, Sukanya Venkatraghavan, Sai Swaroopa, Nikita Deshpande, Sharanya Manivannan and Tarun James Jimani. (If I’ve missed you let me now) Below are a few of my favourite tweets from the chat.

We even had a few questions put forward to the authors present :

And the lovely Claire Fuller even gave us a sneak peek into her riting space (Thank you so much)


6259

Photograph: Ulf Andersen/Getty Images

Also, as usual I have scoured the interwebs for some amazing articles that you can read and here is one of them! If you don’t generally listen to book podcasts I suggest dropping whatever you’re doing and listening to this particular one from The Guardian Books. Naomi Alderman, Lauren Beukes and Alastair Reynolds discuss gender politics in the SciFi world and answer one very important question, Did a woman invent Scifi?

29751398Speaking of Scifi and of Naomi Alderman, did you know she has this amazing book out titled The Power? It is about how the world is exactly as it is with one small change. Teenage girls now have the power to electrocute people, from a small buzz to a slow agonizing death, they can do it al and this one change cause the whole world to shift. And the power is now with the women. This released on the 27th of October from Viking books and is available on Book Depository, Wordery ad everywhere else that books are sold.


Among other posts you have to read is this lovely one from CafeBookBean about Book Towns. I didn’t know this was a thing but it seems so quaint and interesting. I’d definitely want to visit one of these places when time and bank account permits. I’ve also started doing film reviews on my blog. Yes, this doesn’t make sense but don’t worry, it isn’t changing to a movie blog. It’ll just be mostly book to movie adaptation reviews and the occasional seasonal movie review. Rest will be mentioned in wrapups like these.

Speaking of movies my new favourite youtuber just posted a video about 13 movies you can watch for Halloween this year on Netflix. I know I’m going to be hunting for these on Netflix India, are you?

NaNoWriMo_2016_WebBanner_Participant.png

NaNoWriMo Newbie

And last but not least, I’ve decided, sort of, to do NaNoWriMo. I haven’t really done any prep or anything but I’ve had a story idea for a while now and I’ve only written own the detailed plot synopsis but haven’t stated the book. So I thought I’d join. Are you doing NaNoWriMo? If so do add me as a buddy, the image above will lead you to my profile. What was your week like?

