Tags

, , ,

1326615022520355352_2178434400

Non Fiction November was started by Olive and Gemma over in the world of Booktube and as someone who’s just started reading Non Fiction the last few years, I have to say I’m devouring the TBRs and Recommendations coming my way. It also got me thinking, I’ve read a few really great ones recently and if they fit into these categories, maybe I could recommend some to you! What say?


NEW

This could mean either books that are new to you or a subject that is new to you or even a book that is recently released and I’m going with She Walks, She Leads.

91eVToRZk9L.jpgSHE WALKS, SHE LEADS
You’re wondering, “Wait, why is this new?”. It’s new to ME because I’ve not read a book on a list of famous women who are achievers in their own way and certainly not one as varies as this. You can read my review of it here but do get into this with a pinch of salt, it is mostly about privileged women but they’ve all had their own battles to fight I’m sure. It is also a great way to pick which woman you want to read about since a few of them have their own books out in the market or are planning to I’m sure.

And for a book I want to read, I’m picking The Gene

 

413TBr-63LLTHE GENE : AN INTIMATE HISTORY

The story of the gene begins in an obscure Augustinian abbey in Moravia in 1856, where a monk stumbles on the idea of a ‘unit of heredity’. It intersects with Darwin’s theory of evolution, and collides with the horrors of Nazi eugenics in the 1940s. The gene transforms post-war biology. It reorganizes our understanding of sexuality, temperament, choice and free will. Above all, this is a story driven by human ingenuity and obsessive minds–from Charles Darwin and Gregor Mendel to Francis Crick, James Watson and Rosalind Franklin, and the thousands of scientists still working to understand the code of codes. (copying the blurb because I can;t explain it, it’s totally new to me!)


CONTROVERSIAL

Well I don’t think I have read anything controversial. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing to be honest, unless OSHO’s books count. But I think I’m going to just pick books I have in my TBR for this. Starting with

71nE52EoRRL

CHRONICLES OF A GYNAECOLOGIST

How is this controversial? Well because in the circles I am from people like to pretend that everything is fine. Going to a gynaecologist is something to be embarrassed about, your husband or in laws asking if you’re sure its a boy is something that is spoken of normally, not wanting a daughter is spoken of like it’s normal too. And speaking against it is still not having the effect intended because most people won’t accept it’s still there in middle class or upper class circles as well. Also also touch upon domestic violence, perversions, sexual orientation, rape and incest as well.

51ltrGCmnKL

THE GREAT DERANGEMENT : CLIMATE CHANGE AND THE UNTINKABLE
This one isn’t controversial for me but it is for certain people. YES, environmental change is happening, it is real, climate change is real and for me that means I have to work towards making this place better for my children (if I have them) to live in. It means that I need to read about it and learn about it and make the changes, however inconvenient, to make my planet a better place. Ignoring this is like ignoring a pile of shit in the middle of your living room. You wouldn’t do that would you! Read this!


IMPORTANT

56465_thumb.jpg

THE GIFT OF FEAR

I’ve read this over and over again only to realise that every time I felt like doing something and dismissed it as paranoia it turned into a mess. Gavin De Becker tells you how to differentiate between fear and paranoia and how fear is actually a gift to us to let us know when we are in danger. The warning signals that go off in our head are not to be ignored because of peer pressure or because you think you maybe wrong. And while it does tell victims how to better protect themselves it does so without victim blaming or shaming which is the best part of this book.

 

713j75RocULWE SHOULD ALL BE FEMINISTS

Yes, I haven’t read this yet. But I will. i haven’t picked it up because I watched the TED talk and I was told that if you watched the TED talk you don’t need to read the book. So…… I didn’t. But she basically talks about how and why we should all be feminists, gives logical reasons for it (perfect for you naysayers) and encourages us to think of each other has equals. I’m sad that I’ve found stupid reasons for not getting this (Also the shipping cost the same as the book and that just makes no sense to me.) but I have to get it. So here I am, recommending it to you so I will buy it myself. Go, read this book. We should all, IMHO, be feminists.


FASCINATING

22571552SO YOU’VE BEEN PUBLICLY SHAMED

Have you ever criticised someone on twitter or facebook without knowing them? Or have you joined in with the crowd booing them without actually understanding hat they’ve tweeted or the full details of what is happening to them? Being from India this is especially common here, people (read women) are even shamed for wearing clothes that stop above their knees so you can imagine the amount of shaming that happens here. I got into this after watching his TED talk and I have to say this is an absolutely fascinating read about how one single tweet can ruin your life because the internet decides it has an opinion on it and will enforce it. A must read for everyone who’s ever participated in online bullying.

71GDD7r3hMLTHE HIDDEN LIFE OF TREES

I’m sure you immediately pictured the trees from LOTR. I did too and that is one of the reasons I’m excited for it. Did you know that tree parents live close to their tree babies? If a member of their tree family is sick they share nutrients and support them and nurse them while they recover? Oh god this is so fascinating!!!! Peter Wohlleben shares his deep love of woods and forests and explains the amazing processes of life, death and regeneration he has observed in the woodland and the amazing scientific mechanisms behind these wonders, of which we are blissfully unaware. As he says, a happy forest is a healthy forest and he believes that eco-friendly practices not only are economically sustainable but also benefit the health of our planet and the mental and physical health of all who live on Earth. I have to get my hands on this baby.

You can find all of these on Book Depository, Wordery or Flipkart. Click on the titles to be taken to Amazon India to purchase them if you’re from India.

Are you planning on reading anything for Nonfiction November? Any recommendations for me?

