Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_9797

I don’t do wraps enough. Which sucks because I really love reading them. It so much easier to spot a book you want to know about and just go read that review. I really should do them every month.

September was a pretty average reading month for me when I look at the number of books I’ve read. only 12. but it was filled with so many great reads that it more than made up for the number.

1. The Girl With The Lowerback Tattoo by Amy Schumer. I gave this four stars. It was an absolutely excellent read and I honestly think anyone who has even watched her once should read this. So should others.

2. A Manual For Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin. It’s always sad when an author died. But even worse when she dies and her greatness is realised much later. This is one of those situations. Lucia Berlin has a way of taking a bleak and dark situation and drawing humour from it and making the reader appreciate it. A must read!

3. Remember Death. This was an okay read. The first few pages were very slow and I almost DNFed it but I’m glad I stuck to it because it got really fun really fast. A little bollywoody but not as much as certain other thrillers. I’d recommend it if you’re looking to graduate from the current crop on Indian thrillers and want to prepare for more dense international ones.

4. Where The River Parts. This is such a beautiful beautiful book. Absolutely memorable and at the same time, not too dramatic or emotional. I’d recommend tis for your read harder challenges since it is an easy read based around the India Pakistan partition. Another 4/5 stars.

5. Yoko Ogawa’s The Housekeeper And The Professor was my last read for the month and it took me a while to get through. While I enjoyed the characters quite a bit it was too much math for me. Full review coming soon but to sum up, read this if you miss your grandpa, read this if you enjoy math.

6. The Yellow Room is a YA book that took me by surprise. I can only say so much about it without giving it away but it’s a story about a girl who gets a letter from her father’s girlfriend that he’s dead and that she wants to meet. When they do meet she find out that the girlfriend is NOTHING like her career obsessed mother and they hit it off. It was a wonderful read with a great twist. Pick it up asap.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

7. 03:02 was an ok read. Not that exciting. I suppose the problem here was I expected something and got something else. It sounded like a dystopian novel and I was curious to see what an Indian commercial dytopian would read like but out turned out to be a something else and the only thing that kept me going was a curiosity to see who was being everything.

8. 23 1/2 ways to make a girl fall for you. No, this is not a male chauvinist guide on how to talk to a woman wearing headphones. This is in fact a book making fun of the various ways men try to make women fall in love with them. For example, “I have been watching her for four years now, she crosses my bus stop every day. Yesterday she said excuse me. I think she loves me too, what do I do?” etc. It is hilarious and Broacha makes fun of the average Indian male and his lack of common sense or social skills. if you’ve been plagues by those fraanship fellows, read this and laugh.

9. It Must Have Been Something he Wrote was a super cute funny romance that’s perfect for those who don’t read romance much. It isn’t sappy of whiny or filled with gigantic dramatic moments. Instead it’s filled with funny and chuckle worthy moments where you somehow feel a little romance creeping in. Appropriate for YA and above.

10. Never Gone is an absolutely lovely debut from Penguin India’s youngest author. It follows a group of friends as they grapple with everything including parental pressure, peer pressure, not being popular and hormones. It’s perfect to gift to a younger reader and even enjoyable if you’re an adult. This is so impressive for a debut and for her age, I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

11. Abhaya. The author is a friend on twitter and I think she’s awesome. I’ve been worried about reviewing this because I’ve not been getting along very well with mythology these days but I was so pleasantly surprised by this. A lovely read, perfect for those who are looking for the not so popular myths being told.

12. What belongs to you is a story that fits perfectly into my LGBTQ reads. while it was emotionally very taxing the book itself is a work of art and is perfect for those looking to challenge themselves a little bit.

How was your reading month? Read anything awesome?

PS : I’m doing Inktober over on my other blog (started on advice of some of my lovely blogger /instagram friends, Mainly Jen from combustible reviews. You can check it out here.

