Tags

, , , , , , ,

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

The story starts when Leonora, otherwise known as Nora or Lee or Leo, gets an email from her once best friend Clare’s new best friend (Flo), inviting her to join in her Hen celebrations. Clare is getting married and after ten years of no contact whatsoever, wants to get back in touch. Nora is really surprised by this, and a little nervous given how they left things. After deliberation she decides to say yes because there’s another person she knows on the list whom she actually likes, Nina.

Things start off a little oddly but then tensions mount, arguments ensue and the whole weekend ends in a bang. Literally. To be fair, the story actually opens with Nora in the hospital wondering why she’s there and why she’s covered in blood. If it isn’t her blood, whose is it?

In A Dark Dark Wood has been compared to Gone Girl and thankfully, I didn’t know that til after I read it so I wasn’t put out by comparisons. Is it similar? A little bit, yes. I’d say it’s more similar to Girl On The Train than Gone Girl but I’m never going to say it is the next Girl On The Train.

The thing that really got me is the exploration of how toxic friendships can be. And for me personally, I’m now totally freaked out because the toxic people in this book are exact copies of my best friend and I’m worried. Haha.

It’s hard to review a crime thriller. Is it good? Yes, it is absolutely brilliant. But I will say that if you’re looking for a surprise ending, you aren’t going to get it. You can figure out who the bad person is right from the start and you can also see the whys and the hows about 200 pages in. The thing about In A Dark Dark Wood is that the author, Ruth Ware, manages to keep you hooked despite you guessing what will happen. Overall, a great read that kept me up till late in the night.


25406946Nora hasn’t seen Clare for ten years. Not since the day Nora walked out of her old life and never looked back.
Until, out of the blue, an invitation to Clare’s hen party arrives. A weekend in a remote cottage – the perfect opportunity for Nora to reconnect with her best friend, to put the past behind her.
But something goes wrong.
Very wrong.
And as secrets and lies unravel, out in the dark, dark wood the past will finally catch up with Nora.


Buy on Book Depository, Wordery, Amazon India or Flipkart.

