Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You know that you are enjoying a book when you keep interrupting people to read excerpts from it. I actually stood outside my mum’s bathroom door, screaming out loud to be heard over the shower. And I have a feeling that’s exactly what Amy Schumer wanted people to do with her book, The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo.

The book is a memoir of sorts, can’t say memoir because she isn’t old but she certainly has had enough experiences and achievements in her bag to write this. The story is divided into little sections with pictures, experiences and lists, starting with an open letter to her Vagina. (I’m going to have to remove that word in my amazon review because it won’t get accepted, damn censorship).

We have all read or atleast heard about these open letters and for a second I was worried it might go the way where things that were meant to be funny weren’t and things that were serious were unintentionally funny. But this was just so devastatingly hilarious and interesting that I had to force myself to put it down atleast when I went to the bathroom.

It is not a laugh riot.Well. (See how I’m contradicting myself here, keep reading) It is, but not in the way you’d expect. If you’re only looking for sunshine and rainbows watch her standup or watch Inside Amy Schumer. This book exposes Amy in ways you haven’t seen her before. Sure she makes fun of herself on stage, mocks her body, talks about her sexual encounters, both successes and failures; but this is more raw, more vulnerable and more serious that you would have expected it to be.

While she starts the book in a cliché way it quickly turns into one of those books that you will cherish for the rest of your adult life. She talks about losing her virginity, about rape, about domestic violence, about gun control, she dedicates a section to two girls who were killed in a theatre while they were watching her movie, she dedicates another section to talking about her dad’s Multiple Sclerosis and another to talking about how magazines treat women.

Amy Schumer has an amazing way of taking something serious and making it seem like a joke but in such a respectful way that you’re left confused about whether you should laugh or cry. Trigger warnings for the chapters on Losing My Virginity (where she talks about grape – grey area rape) and The Worst Night Of My Life (where she talks about being abused by a boyfriend). You will have a difficult time getting through them even if you have been fortunate enough to not experience these things.

Yes, the book was filled with humorous recollections of one night stands, body parts, failed parties and the things she did to get an apartment in New York, but it is also filled with hope and advice. She is unabashedly herself and drives home the point that you should be too. It doesn’t matter who you are as long as you aren’t pretentious and that’s what The Girl With The Lower Back Tattoo is all about. Being herself, whether it be blackout drunk, a foodie who has no qualms making a pasta pizza (pastitzza), a girl with a crooked tribal “tramp stamp” or a comedian who talks about wild sex despite only having one successful one night stand. And she’s right about it all, including the fact that Amber Rose can wear whatever the F she wants.

I knew who Amy Schumer was before reading this book. I wasn’t a big fan, but I really liked her. I think her humour is misunderstood by her haters and I think she is absolutely hilarious, if you get her sense of humour. Which is a prerequisite for enjoying this book, you must enjoy Amy Schumer’s sense of humour. That’s great because like I said earlier, I think she is hilarious and I enjoyed every single page of this book. Pick it up immediately.

Buy on Book Depository, Wordery, Amazon India or Flipkart.

I requested a review copy from HarperCollins and was very generously provided one.

