Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I thought I’d do a little combo post of sorts because even though I have a lot of reviews saved up, I have a few that I can’t review full length for various reasons. And there’s bookstagram chat 2 which was a lovely experience and also, there are some books tat I’m looking forward to!

IMG_5462_thumb.jpg

If you’ve read my previous posts you’ll know that I was wondering, very nervously, if I could start a bookstagram chat and then I proceeded to host one with one of my favourite bookstagrammers, Resh from thebooksatchel who very kindly agreed to be my cohost. She’s a wonderful person and it has made hosting these chats a lot easier and fun. This time we discussed publishers and their feeds, what everyone likes, doesn’t like and who has an awesome feed. (Turn’s out Epicreads was the unanimous choice.)

We had Naz from readdiversebooks, TheBookTrail, Gemkarita, Melissa from The Reader And The Chef, Fay of SuckerForCoffee, Bina, Ninofray, Nicole of Pop Crunch Boom, Zoe from readabilitea, Sophie of Literaryrambles, Yeldah of Beautiful Bibliophile, Sarika, Granthamaven, Crystal of Bookiemoji, Cora of TeaPartyPrincess, MyLitBox, Kris from MyFriendsAreFiction, Jennifer and a lot of others that I can’t seem to find because people are using the hashtag to spam. Lol. But if you participated please let me know so I can add you. And thanks for making it a wonderful success.

Giveaway

img_8384

I’m also having two giveaways going on, one India, for city of death and another International.

The-Gita-for-children.jpg

If you didn’t know, I’ve started a new section for Cover Designer/Illustrator interviews here. There are already two interviews up, one of Asma Kazi, the wonderful designer of Dark Things and another of Sayan Mukherjee for the Gita For Children and Enid Blyton’s Secret Series.

New Releases

811DO38GZALBooks I’m most excited about are The Conspiracy at Meru which is releasing on the 22nd of August. It is the sequel to Guardians Of The Halahala which I absolutely raved about here.

Victory is temporary the battle is eternal. Vikramaditya and his Council of nine have fought valiantly to repel the rampaging hordes from Devaloka and Patala – but Avanti has been brought to its knees. Ujjayini lies battered its citizens are scared and morale is badly shaken. Meanwhile, the barbaric Hunas and Sakas are gathering on the horizon and cracks are emerging between the allied kingdoms of Sindhuvarta. The only silver lining is that the deadly Halahala is safe. For now. Bent on vengeance, Indra is already scheming to destroy Vikramaditya, while Shukracharya has a plan that can spell the doom for the Guardians of the Halahala. How long can the human army hold out against the ferocity and cunning of the devas and asuras?

51gHeTc1IhL

Ruins by Rajith Savanadasa which is also about Sri Lanka. If you follow me on my goodreads you’ll know that I’m reading What Lies Between Us by Nayomi Munaweera and I’m really enjoying the read. I was looking for more Sri Lankan writing and this popped up on Hachette India’s twitter feed.

A Country picking up the pieces, a family among the ruins. In the restless streets, crowded waiting rooms and glittering nightclubs of Colombo, five family members find their bonds stretched to breaking point in the aftermath of the Sri Lankan civil war. Latha wants a home. Anoushka wants an iPod. Mano hopes to win his wife back. Lakshmi dreams of rescuing a lost boy. And Niranjan needs big money so he can leave them all behind.

Apart from these I’m super excited about Arrowood, Hot Little Hands and A Manual for Cleaning Women which are finally coming out in India.

That was my week, how’s yours going?

