Tags

, , , , , ,

27274343You will be scared. But you won’t know why…
I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It sticks. It lingers. It’s always there. Always.
Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”
And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

In this deeply suspenseful and irresistibly unnerving debut novel, a man and his girlfriend are on their way to a secluded farm. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is left stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. What follows is a twisted unraveling that will haunt you long after the last page is turned.

Thoughts : I’m Thinking of Ending Things – The debut novel by Iain Reid is certainly one of my favourite reads of the year. You will be scared, but you won’t know why – As soon as I read this line in the synopsis, I knew I just had to read this book. And it certainly didn’t disappoint. It grabbed my attention from the first page and hasn’t let go since. In fact, I can feel the hair standing on my neck as I write this review.

I won’t go into the details of the story because it’s imperative to read this book without any prior knowledge of the plot. Instead, I would like to talk about what this book made me feel while I was reading it. Throughout the book, there is a constant feeling of unease. It is totally atmospheric. You know something isn’t right, but you can’t put your finger on it. This instils in you a sense of discomfort, an impending doom. It unsettles you, and scares you. The suspense keeps on building. You will feel fear, but won’t know why – which is even more terrifying. And just when you think you are about to figure out what’s going on, the story takes a mind-numbing twist which will leave you dumbfounded and gasping. I was literally blown away by the ending. It was totally unexpected and most importantly, it was terrifyingly good. I had to read the last chapter twice to fully grasp the climax. Simply mind blowing.

Iain Reid has to be applauded for the way he manages to create an atmosphere of tension and suspense, and sustain it for the entirety of the book. He leaves subtle clues throughout the book which he masterfully masks from the reader. The use of short, abrupt sentences adds to the air of dread that permeates each page. All in all, a stunning debut.

I will go for 4.5/5 for this book. I don’t normally read the same book twice, but I am gladly willing to make an exception for this one. Highly recommended! Not to be missed!

Buy I’m Thinking of Ending Things on Amazon

Abhilash Sanyal is a network security engineer with ITC Ltd. Apart from being a certified bookworm, he also loves writing short stories. Mystery/Suspense is his favourite genre. He also likes playing the guitar and is an avid traveler. You can follow his blogs here and here

