Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 

IMG_8292In a sort of repentance for breaking my August book ban before the very first day….afternoon, I’m posting a book haul.

The books above were ordered in July so they don’t count, but the ones below do.

  • Turbulence by Samit Basu – I bought this simply because I thought someone had recommended it to me. Turns out it just came up in a random conversation about Indian fantasy authors. So I have no clue as to it’s awesomeness. Let’s see. I’m going in blind for this one folks, wish me luck.
  • A Song For Issey Bradley – I was really hoping to get my hands on Sweet Home or A Museum of You but when I spotted this in one of my favourite used bookstores, I grabbed it without thinking. I mean, she’s an author every raves about, it’s gotta be good.
  • The Coiled Serpent – Again, I know nothing about this. I only got it to reach the amount that would give me free sipping. It is a family saga, that much I gleaned from the back. I’m sure this is going to be an interesting read.
  • Metamorphosis – Well, man turns into insect. And his family doesn’t kill him. It’s interesting enough. Also this is one of those books that EVERYONE has to read. So….
  • Where’d You Go Bernadette – Already read this one. Read it the second I got it and absolutely adored it. Review here.
  • Night Waking – This is the author that wrote The Tidal Zone. And this is another book of hers that everyone raves about, grabbed it without a second thought.
  • All The Light We Cannot See – You can see me review of the audiobook here. I loved it so much that I decided to grab a physical copy as well.

IMG_8491

Here, the other books I bought before my evil august the 1st haul, are The Scorpio Races and The Dinner. I also bought Lighthousekeeping which isn’t pictured here. It’s the gorgeous pink cover BTW and i absolutely adore it. The David Baldacci books are borrowed from my favourite little sister who….isn’t actually little. But she loved these and insisted that I read them. So read I shall!

IMG_8592

Then, of course, I found out that Bloomsbury had slashed the price of the illustrated Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone and it was available for around 899/-. Naturally I grabbed it. Also I bought In A Dark Dark Wood by Ruth Ware because I keep seeing the women in cabin 10 around but I wanted to read her debut first. Also since Jen from combustible reviews made me read A Monster Calls I’ve been wanting to try more Patrick Ness so I grabbed The Knife Of Never Letting go. The premise sounded really interesting but I’m not in the mood for it just yet. It’ll be good to have this around. Also purchased with these was Very Good Lives which was being read my mommy dearest when this picture was being taken, so I snapped without it.

What do you suggest I start with first? I’ve already read Bernadette, The Dinner and I’m currently on the Illustrated Potter. Also, what did you think of HP and the cursed child? I’ve reviewed mine here.

Also, I’m doing a buddyread of The Dark Days Club with thereaderandthechef today. You guys are welcome to join if you want to.

Note : I’ve managed to have another haul but that was all gifts so I’ll talk about them in a later post.

