Tags

, , , , , ,

460337“We should expect this young woman to be more powerful than our average novice, possibly even more powerful than the average magician.”
This year, like every other, the magicians of Imardin gather to purge the city of undesirables. Cloaked in the protection of their sorcery, they move with no fear of the vagrants and miscreants who despise them and their work-—until one enraged girl, barely more than a child, hurls a stone at the hated invaders…and effortlessly penetrates their magical shield.
What the Magicians’ Guild has long dreaded has finally come to pass. There is someone outside their ranks who possesses a raw power beyond imagining, an untrained mage who must be found and schooled before she destroys herself and her city with a force she cannot yet control.

Thoughts – This book has taken me ages to finish. I grabbed it and put it down and picked it up a couple of weeks later and put it down again. I’d say it’s only because I don’t get on with yellow books but I think there’s more to that here.

Sonea is the main female character in this story and she was, oh my god, the most boring character I’ve ever read in a long time. I assume that young adults are supposed to connect with her because this is a YA book but I really hope they didn’t. She’s absolutely not worth reading about! She’s a very special Orphan who doesn’t know anything much about her past (ahem) and she’s living with her aunt and uncle (ahem). She breaks a magician’s shield and attacks him accidentally leading to a massive hunt for the one threat to the magical institution that they have, to the delicate balance they’ve developed. The hunt is on to find her and soon she is on the run.

Her narrative voice was so childish that I thought they were talking about a 9 year old. She’s really got nothing to offer as a protagonist (yes I get that she’s got powers but that doesn’t make her an interesting character). The “villain”, Lord Rother is a much better narrative vice than her and he and Dannyl are the only reason I went on with it. The problem is while there were no love related tropes there were a lot of convenient storylines and a rather messy ending just to get everything together. I don’t like writing negative reviews so I’m going t end it here.

As for positive notes, the world was shown from the point of view of a child so I can’t say much about the world building from her view. But from Rothen’s view it was very well done I enjoyed his portions a lot (he’s like Lupin) and that was the only thing, as I mentioned earlier, that made me finish the book.

Read this if you want to get more of a magical world no matter how the story is. Do not read this if you are older than say, 15. Of course I hear that the other books are much better but I think I’ll give this off to my not so little niece. She might have a better time with it than I did.

Would I read this again? No. And I don’t think I’ll continue the series. This has totally put me off fantasy YA.

 

