Tags

, , ,

Instagram Icon

When I woke up that morning and saw the updates available for my app I didn’t think twice before clicking on the ‘Update All’ option and keeping my phone aside while I brushed my teeth and got read for my day. Soon breakfast was made, eaten (maybe photographed casually next to a matching book) and I edited the photo, brightening and contrasting, getting it ready for instagram. Only, Instagram was nowhere to be found. I checked folders and three homepages before checking the app store to realise that the pink Barbie doll looking thing I presumed was my period calendar, was Instagram. What the…..

“Well” I thought, “Two can play at that game” and i didn’t post a picture all day. But when, after a bit of cringing, I clicked the icon at the end of the day I noticed that people had all gone one posting. Now I’m new to the world of online social media, I only recently made an instagram and I’ve still not got a Facebook account, so why the hell was this app icon affecting me so much?

If I can’t beat them, let me understand them. I googled why they had changed the icon and came across this Telegraph article. “We’ve been inspired by all the ways the community has grown and changed, and we wanted to create something that reflects how vibrant and diverse storytelling on Instagram has become,” a spokesperson is said to have said and I honestly don’t see it. Yes, the icon is colourful and vibrant but it isn’t helping the community. The other changes that they’ve brought on, starting with the icon change, have made things more difficult for the community. I follow a couple of artists and was hoping to pick up some of their pieces when I move houses but with the new algorithm, Instagram has made sure that I always miss their posts. My chronological order is gone and instagram seems to do what we feminists call, mansplaining, where they tell you what things should be like and what you should like and see. (Even John Mayer tried to speak up against it.)

The old icon, to me, represented class. It was designed based off old polaroid cameras and being someone who mostly loved old school Kodak and hotshot cameras I cannot tell you how disappointed I am that this classy app has lost it’s charm. The screen looks like a candy from the candy crush trailers you see or like a prop from a Barbie house. It doesn’t seem diverse, it seems immature. And yes, I know I shouldn’t get too worked up about an icon but it’s not just the icon. It’s a sign.

It’s a sign that things on instagram, a community I recently joined and came to love, is changing and that the change isn’t good. They haven’t stopped a single change that us users have spoken out against and it shows us that they don’t care about the people who made them what they are. And as of the new update you can no longer see who unfollowed you. I’m disappointed at the cold shoulder they’ve given our requests and I’ll probably leave instagram soon if that doesn’t change. Shoulda known that anything that goes to facebook will go down the toilet. How do you feel about these changes?

(Sorry for the non bookish post today folks. I hope you didn’t mind it.)

