Tags

, , , ,

I was tagged by the absolutely lovely Vijayalakshmi Harish to do this tag.  Thank you very much!

the-diversebooks-tag

We all need diversity in books and I for one am tired of reading about middle aged white male protagonists who have absolutely no problems yet think they are heroes with the weight of the world upon them. So enter the DiverseBookBloggers hashtag. I’ve been enjoying the conversations happening on twitter with other Diverse bloggers and the lovely Nazahet from Read Diverse books.

Now I personally have never really noticed the lack of diversity in books because I read a lot of Indian books and I’m Indian. But the more people pointed it out the more I noticed how pathetically whitewashed the whole literary scene was and now, I’m a little irked. Let’s do this tag with a little……..irkedness(what the hell kinda word is that vicky? idiot!)

Rules :

  • For each of the categories below, list a book that you have either read or want to read that fits the bill. If you do not know of any book, go looking–search engines (like Google), and bookish sites (like goodreads and Book Riot) are a great place to start. Or ask a librarian:)
  • Having prepared your list, post it on your blog/talk about it on your YouTube channel.
  • Tag at least five other people to post their own lists and keep this tag going

Find a book starring a Lesbian Character.

17465574

Not gonna lie, I had to do a bit of googling for this one. I was completely lost then I realised I’d read Blue Is The Warmest Colour which was a pretty good and sad graphic novel by author Julie Maroh. I enjoyed it enough and gave it 3 stars and I really liked the art style. It was simple and free. This won  an award as well. Prix du Festival d’Angoulême for Prix du Public (2011)

Find a book with a Muslim protagonist.

437129

Well, The Kite Runner is one. And a lot of others, like I said, I live in India and quite a few of our books have Muslim protagonists. I believe this is also a graphic novel and I’d love to check it out to see how it is. This is another winner of literary awards having won a total of 7 between 2003 and 2008.

Find a book set in Latin America.

I had quite a few here, One Hundred Years Of Solitude, Like Water for Chocolate and Chronicle Of A Death Foretold. But I wanted to go for something that I didn’t already know about but I would want to read. I picked The Silence In The Rain because I’m always up for reading a good thriller.

1686113In a parking garage in the center of Rio de Janeiro, corporate executive Ricardo Carvalho is found dead in his car, a bullet in his head. It appears that he has been robbed and murdered. But the clues are few. The gun and his briefcase are nowhere to be found — just the kind of case that is always assigned to Inspector Espinosa. Not your typical detective, the world-weary Espinosa has the mind of a philosopher, the heart of a romantic, and enough experience to realize that things are rarely as they first seem.
As Espinosa attempts to unravel the mystery of what really happened to Carvalho and his secretary, Rose, who disappeared shortly afterward, he discovers that the businessman had recently taken out a million-dollar life insurance policy. And there’s another complication: Espinosa’s attraction to Carvalho’s beautiful widow, who is also one of the prime suspects. When two more bodies turn up, Espinosa is forced to shift the investigation into high gear before anyone else becomes a casualty.

Find a book about a person with a disability.

I had never thought of this. Huh. Does a mental disability count? Not sure. Ok, sticking with physical disabilities, I had to google the list and found something I had on my TBR.

22290She’s a catwalk model who has everything: a boyfriend, a career, a loyal best friend. But when a sudden motor ‘accident’ leaves her disfigured and incapable of speech, she goes from being the beautiful centre of attention to being an invisible monster, so hideous that no one will acknowledge she exists.
Enter Brandy Alexander, Queen Supreme, one operation away from being a real woman, who will teach her that reinventing yourself means erasing your past and making up something better, and that salvation hides in the last place you’ll ever want to look.
The narrator must exact revenge upon Evie, her best friend and fellow model; kidnap Manus, her two-timing ex-boyfriend; and hit the road with Brandy in search of a brand-new past, present and future.

 

Find a science fiction of a fantasy book with a POC protagonist.

29338023.jpg

I recently read The Passenger and gave it 3 stars. There are two protagonists and one of them is a POC. And this book also looks at race issues because there’s a lot of time travel involved and they go back in time quite a bit. It’s a pretty fun read if you’re interested.

Find a book set in (or about) any country in Africa.

3729896

Beasts Of No Nation. I bought this book a while ago in a Landmark sale and have read half of it. For some reason i put it down and didn’t pick it up again. Which is quite sad considering how short it is. Thankfully I remember every bit of the story so far so I can just pick up where I left off. Hopefully I’ve left the bookmark in. This is rather gritty and difficult story about a little boy, Agu, who is recruited into Guerrilla warfare by the same kinda people who killed his father. He is taken in by the powerful commander and tries to impress him, vanishing into a world where he soon forgets who he was.

Find a book written by an Aboriginal or American Indian author.

18247932Having found nothing I took to the guardian and finally picked one. The Swan Dance which is also an award winner. Sounds pretty interesting eh? Check this out : The Swan Book is set in the future, with Aboriginals still living under the Intervention in the north, in an environment fundamentally altered by climate change. It follows the life of a mute young woman called Oblivia, the victim of gang-rape by petrol-sniffing youths, from the displaced community where she lives in a hulk, in a swamp filled with rusting boats, and thousands of black swans, to her marriage to Warren Finch, the first Aboriginal president of Australia, and her elevation to the position of First Lady, confined to a tower in a flooded and lawless southern city.

 

Find a book set in south Asia (India, Pakistan etc)
29367740.jpg

Again, this is a lot of books that I read. I’m going to link my entire Indian Writing list here and also add a book I really liked in recent times.

Find a book with a Biracial protagonist.
475235_thumb.jpg

I’m not sure if this means that someone is a mixed race or if it means like an Indian American or something. I’m assuming Mixed? Anyway, I’m picking The Room On The Roof because the main character, Rusty, is half British and half Indian. I also thought of adding The Girl Who Fell From The Sky which is now on my TBR.

Find a book starring a transgender character about transgender issues.

18342374

Imagine if, after fifteen years as a lesbian couple, your partner turned to you and said, “I think I’m really a man.” What would you do? How would you respond? For Diane and Jacob (née Suzy) Anderson-Minshall this isn’t a hypothetical question. It’s what really happened. Eight years later, the couple not only remains together, they still identify as queer, still work in LGBT media, and remain part of the LGBT community. After reading that how could I resist adding this here? I really want to read this as well!

This was a much more difficult post to write than I thought it would be. And it has a few gaps as well, mainly where I read but then again I suppose those Asian authors are popular already. I tag:

jen from combustible reviews

Nthato from ascribetodescribe

Raquel from Rakiddbooks

Healther from Feminismincoldstorage

areaderofliterature

