Tags

, , , , , ,

81cs5MIGlXL

Five best friends spending the summer at Lumberjane scout camp…defeating yetis, three-eyed wolves, and giant falcons…what’s not to love?!
Friendship to the max! Jo, April, Mal, Molly and Ripley are five best pals determined to have an awesome summer together…and they’re not gonna let any insane quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! Not only is it the second title launching in our new BOOM! Box imprint but LUMBERJANES is one of those punk rock, love-everything-about-it stories that appeals to fans of basically all excellent things. It’s Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Gravity Falls and features five butt-kicking, rad teenage girls wailing on monsters and solving a mystery with the whole world at stake.

Everyone who’s following HeyPanels and any of the #readharder people on youtube would have seen this book doing the rounds. Women rave about it, men……I don’t know. I haven’t seen men talking about it but women rave about it. And I thought I would rave about it too, so I can’t get over the fact that this was a 2 star book for me. And those two stars go to the art.

I expected to be reading about some seriously kick ass female characters who are lumber jacks only janes and who care strong and capable of doing things that women are normally not expected to be capable of doing. Basically, I expected Betty in the woods being cool and awesome. What I got instead was Betty in some alternate universe with a mind addled by some drug.

I found the story itself ridiculous and silly and the characters eye rolly and slappable. I know, violent right? But I could not tolerate them and their ridiculous dialogues. They all sounded like they were high and blabbing some really random crap. Maybe this is the book version of modern art? I don’t know. I’m really glad that I borrowed my friend’s copy though (who also hated the book) and didn’t spend on this. Boy would I have been mad if I’d shelled out 741 rupees for this. I could have bought three whole paperbacks on that price and based on the rave reviews I was willing to do it!

To be fair, this is supposed to be a fun book but I think I prefer the Maus, Persepolis sort of graphic novel to this. And even though I sort of thought I Hate Fairyland was ok I woulnd’t necessarily pick it up. This is plotless and the characters are….not real IMO. Did I miss something? As you can tell from this review I’m really confused. I’m sure there is some hidden genius in this that I’ve missed. I won’t be reading this or anything else by this author though, which is very sad because I’ve been dying to pick up Nimona.

Just because I hated it doesn’t mean you will too though, you can pick up Lumberjanes at wordery or on book depository

You can also follow me on my twitter, my instagram and my goodreads. Thank you for stopping by.

