Tags

, , , , ,

27207279

 

In an adventure that ain’t for the little kiddies, (unless you have super cool parents, then whatever), you’ll meet Gert—a six year old girl who has been stuck in the magical world of Fairyland for thirty years and will hack and slash her way through anything to find her way back home. Join Gert and her giant battle-axe on a delightfully blood soaked journey to see who will survive the girl who HATES FAIRYLAND.

Hype Hype and some more Hype later I finally grabbed myself e-copies of I hate fairyland 1,2 and 3. Because these were the cheapest first three and I wanted to get myself acquainted with the style before I made a proper investment in the physical copies (which are, by the way, still not available in India).

I Hate Fairyland by Skottie Young and Jean-François Beaulieu is about a little green haired girl called Gertrude who wishes that she could live in fairyland. her wish comes true and somehow, she’s stuck there. Her mind ages over the 27 years that she’s stuck but her body remains. So what we are left with is this murderous, crass, frustrated 27 yr old in a kid’s body. It’s quite bizarre really.

The art is absolutely brilliant, colourful and gory but not in a yucky Tokyo Ghoul kind of way, in a more…..fluffy way. I can’t believe I actually said that. If you have a problem you can go fluff yourself. NO. I didn’t mean that! COME BACK!

Can you see this book has gotten into my head? This is weird because while I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would I certainly enjoyed it. Her ability to murder masses and masses of monsters and zombies and vampires or whatever they are is admirable and for a second, just for a second, i wished I was as cool as Gertrude.

Now I may not but any more ecopies because i hate eBooks but I will certainly pick up the physical volumes when they start coming out. I prefer them over issues anyway. Read this if you like Tokyo ghoul, Rat Queens and the like. You’ll fluffing love it.

