Tags

, , , , ,

20493695

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.
I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.
Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?
Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.
If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make.

REVIEW : If I Stay was one of the books I picked off the Amazon Sale after hearing many good things about it. People said it made them cry, that it made them appreciate whatever they had and it made them desperate for the sequel. I’m sorry to say…..I didn’t like it.

At all.

I’m not sure if I am completely heartless or if the book was spoiled for me because of all the great recommendations, but it was so predictable and tropey that I was itching to stuff it back into its packaging and send it back. Firstly, the character, Mia, has no sense of self worth without being with a man or without being considered cool. She is SHOCKED that someone as cool as whatshisname likes her despite her self proclaimed geekiness or nerdyness. She’s supremely talented (and of course she doesn’t know it or act like it) and wait for it, her man is as talented as her.

She goes out of her way to try to prove how “not cool” she is and how completely ok she is with it and the entire time she’s constantly comparing herself to the…..well no one. There’s just nothing here. No conflict, no actual romance, absolutely no incentive to keep me going. And….wait for it……the ending was absolutely predictable. Of course it ended like that, because this is a Bollywood movie. Not a book. Which is fine, but see, here’s the thing. If it had been dramatic and magical from the first page it would have worked but she has an annoyingly normal happy family, almost perfect and her biggest problem is that she looks different from them. So the ending isn’t justified.

Can you see how annoyed I am? I could have bought so many other books and I picked this. I’m sure I would have enjoyed the others more. Read this if you’re 14 and only just getting into books. Else, skip it and read something more…..well less annoying.

If my review pissed you off well then there’s nothing I can do about it. People are different and they like different things.

