Tags

, , ,

26365537

 

‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’
‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’
‘Maybe.’

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.

REVIEW : I’m not a fan of star wars. Let me state that very clearly. But I did enjoy this book as someone who is a part of other fandoms. This was an urbam YA story. I suppose that’s what you call YAs in modern settings, or contemporary. Which is something I haven’t read much of. Contemporary is just boring IMO and I prefer being taken into worlds past and worlds that are fantastical, brimming with magic and wonder. Not brimming with cell phones and bullying. But I really enjoyed this book.

I wasn’t expecting to love it as much as I did but I think Miss. Rainbow Rowell just got herself another fan! This is a story about a group of kids coming together to watch a very delayed new release in the Star Wars franchise. As they sit outside the theatre trying to bond, things happen, little things but they seem big to some and small to others. Elena isn’t boring at all, she’s outside the norm of the Star Wars fan-base and that causes a rift with some people and then the story goes from there. It’s a lovely little tale that I enjoyed reading and will probably read again and again. Now to get the rest of her books. There, a small “review” for a tiny book.

Buy Kindred Spirits: World Book Day Edition 2016 on Amazon

 

