Tags

, , , , ,

2732977

 

A murder mystery, family saga, love story, and a tale of financial intrigue wrapped into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.Harriet Vanger, scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, disappeared over forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to seek the truth. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a crusading journalist recently trapped by a libel conviction, to investigate. He is aided by the pierced and tattooed punk prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption.

I haven’t reviewed anything in ages. In my excuse I’ve been ill and dragging myself from doctor to doctor only to find that the second opinion contradicts the first opinion and so on and so forth. Basically, I couldn’t blog or read. But I’m feeling better today so here I am with a review for you.

I’d tried picking this up a couple of times before but I never ended up reading it. But since I absolutely love the book movie comparison post I did for the bookriot read harder challenge that I decided to do another.

Book : With spoilers since I’m pretty much the last person on the planet to read the story(movie part of the review will be posted on the movie blog in a couple of days)

Firstly, let me say, SUCH TINY FONT. What the HELL were the publishers thinking?! The other books in the series have normal sized font. I don’t understand it. It’s almost like they don’t want people to read this book. Or maybe my edition sucks. This is why I don’t buy online. You should always check it out in person.

I really enjoyed the details this book had to offer by way of character building. You are left with an excellent idea of what the leads, Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist, are really like. Salander, in particular, comes across very clearly. The other characters, Erika, Isabella, Martin, Cecelia and Harriet are written with a sort of distance that only a very talented writer can come up with. If feels like the reader is either Blomkvist or Salander and like we are watching the others through their eyes.

The end, when it does come, is a surprise. No one expected to see Harriet that way but it is what it is and we have to accept the fact that these things happen in families where no one pays proper attention to the kids and what they’re going through. It puts across a message that there are things that are as important as a child’s physical safety. And by physical safety I mean, “Yep, she’s alive and isn’t dying of some disease. Good.” Brilliantly written, this book takes a while to get into but once you do, it’s easy to fall in love with it.

The negatives are one and only one thing. The bloody economic and financial details. God dammit I’ve had enough economics class in school. I don’t want to have to read it while dealing with a murder mystery! I understand that it is Blomkvist’s job and since he is one of the main characters I have to know some details of his life but I really don’t need to know all the details of every transaction he checks. It was torment.

The movie was a different game altogether. I wasn’t as convinced by it and if I were to compare I’d say the movie was only half as good as the book. Especially since none of the characters looked like what I imagined. I watched the Swedish film but I’ll soon be watching the American version to see if I like that better.

Buy The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Online

PS: I’ll only be posting review posts for a while now because I’ve got some projects coming up that I need to focus on. I might also post hauls or wrapups every now and then.

Have a great day!

