Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Ah what a lovely topic. Of course this can’t include Harry Potter because I talk about that all the time. So….let’s see what we can come up with this week.

1. The Room On The Roof475235

I love rusty and while I read the book a little too young and probably didn’t completely understand what it was all about when I reread it I still loved it. It’s from one of India’s most loved writers so you know you can’t go wrong with a little Bond. Ruskin Bond.

The cover above is the exact one I had and it made me fall in love with Hill Stations.

 

2. DICE

21826085I cheated a bit here because this isn’t really a book. Atleast I didn’t read it in book form. It’s DICE : The Cube That Changes Everything and it is a webtoon (Manhwa). Originally written in Korean the translated version is available for free on Line Webtoons and can be viewed on your app or on the browser.

This is a story about a misfit boy in school who gets constantly bullied until one day when the newest popular guy in school steals the girl he’s crushing over. He stalks to fellow to find that he used a glowing dice that makes things happen for him. Of course, everything comes with a price.

3. Burial Rites

20913559

Can you believe that this magnificent masterpiece is a debut? Can you? “Northern Iceland, 1829. A woman condemned to death for murdering her lover. A family forced to take her in. A priest tasked with absolving her. But all is not as it seems, and time is running out: winter is coming, and with it the execution date. Only she can know the truth. This is Agnes’s story.”

I fell in love with Agnes and the Icelandic landscape in this book. In fact I’m thinking of doing a detailed review of this later. I have half written somewhere and a quick reread should help me finish it.

4. Naoko

201271

I read Higashino a lot after Devotion Of Suspect X. And while Journey Under The Midnight Sun is a bigger favourite I talked about that quite recently. So I’m bringing out Naoko. I got this immediately after I finished Salvation Of A Saint and Devotion Of Suspect X and I found it to be immensely different from his previous works. He toes the line a lot here and somehow that makes this feel more real and serious. Check this out if you haven’t already.

 

5. 1Q84

10357575.jpg

I was introduced to Murakami by a date a long time ago. The date didn’t work out but my love for Murakami did. I found 1Q84 to be exactly the right kind of introduction. It is a collection of his best IMO. The story follows a physical therapise/assassin who goes around killing people with the prick of a needle. The other characters are a wealthy dowager who uses her money for good, a cult leader who has a lot to hide and my favourite, a teacher who does something unacceptable but want’s to accept it.

I loved this book and would recommend it to as many people as possible. It’s long, but that just means there’s more to love.

I could only think of five to talk about that I haven’t raved about recently. I tend to keep yapping about the books I like so this might be an eyeopener. Stop yapping else you’ll have nothing left to mention to people.

