Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been in a bad reading slump recently. I don’t know if it’s from the medication for my teeth or from the fact that it’s suddenly hot here. But it’s been a nightmare. In fact I haven’t even been reading my favourite blogs! Book reviews are out of the question since I haven’t finished many books. But then it struck me, I’ve Not finished a LOT of books.

Time for a DNF post.

1. The Prophet – Kalil Gibran

2547

This was actually a pretty interesting read up until a line about how victims of crimes are not innocent. SNAP, I shut the book. I do not want to read anything that suggests that victims of crimes are as responsible for the crimes that are committed against them as the perpetrators are. Did I misunderstand this line? I hope I did, but if I didn’t.

The murdered is not unaccountable for his own murder,
      And the robbed is not blameless in being robbed
.”

This is how the excuse “she was asking for it” started, by blaming the victim and I don’t want to read anything past that line in a book. Done. I’ve also got his complete works but I’ll be skipping that as well.

2. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me – Mindy Kaling

10335308

I stopped listening to this about ten minutes in, I think. She says something like “The best revenge is acid on the face”

Really Miss Vera Mindy Chokalingam? Born in an Indian family? India, where this is one of the most common crimes? You think this is a joke? HAHAHAHA. Rape must be funny to you too! I dropped the audiobook immediately after this. No way in hell am I watching anything that has anything to do with her.

 

 

3. A Long Way Down – Nick Hornby

823138

This was weird because I really wanted to read this book. And it isn’t badly written. It’s just that one of the characters, Jess, made me want to toss her off the roof myself. She was so annoying that I dropped this at page 70. Couldn’t deal with her nonsense anymore. And one of my family members was reading another book by the same author, How to be good, and that was a DNF too. I guess this is one author to avoid during reading slumps.

What are your DNFs? Do you think I was right to drop these books? Was I wrong?

Tell me in the comments.

