Tags

, , , , , , ,

2813153

Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers thirteen cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker, his classmate and crush who committed suicide two weeks earlier.
On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.
Through Hannah and Clay’s dual narratives, debut author Jay Asher weaves an intricate and heartrending story of confusion and desperation that will deeply affect teen readers.

REVIEW : “I am unable to believe that a girl who is so old (old enough to drive, that’s 16 in USA right?) could kill herself for such small reasons.” This is what I thought when I finished the book. I read it in one sitting, which definitely says that it is a good book. But while it is a good book it isn’t a great book. It let me down with Hannah’s reasons. As a victim of bullying I’ve been through worse than her and I know people who have been through so much worse without trying to kill themselves. I’m not saying her reasons aren’t justified but that she reads more like a 14 year old than a 16 year old.

While I liked Clay as a character, I’m not sure I believe in his perfection. Explaining my disappointment with this book is hard because I didn’t dislike it. On the contrary it is nice that such a serious topic has been taken up in the YA genre, it might help dissuade someone, even one person, from spreading malicious rumours about people. But it wasn’t executed all that well. I gave this three stars because I did enjoy it. Unfortunately I did not love it.

This is definitely a must read book for YA readers. I’m not sure if there are many other books on such a heavy topic and if there are please let me know in the comments below. But if there aren’t, then this is a must read. It might help stop atleast one teen suicide.

Buy Thirteen Reasons Why on Amazon

