Tags

, , , , , ,

23848559

According to Jenny: “Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos.”
“Most of my favorite people are dangerously fucked-up but you’d never guess because we’ve learned to bare it so honestly that it becomes the new normal. Like John Hughes wrote in The Breakfast Club, ‘We’re all pretty bizarre. Some of us are just better at hiding it.’ Except go back and cross out the word ‘hiding.’

REVIEW : Furiously Happy is my first experience with Jenny Lawson. I hadn’t heard of her before and I hadn’t read her blog before so I was a little apprehensive going in. Especially after hating a few other “Life autobiography” type of books I read before this. But Jenny Lawson is a breath of fresh air.

I was wondering, when I was younger, what was wrong with me. And having lived in a rather conservative household mental illnesses were associated with screaming women waving neem leaves and waving their long hair about. Even depression was more like, “Eat icecream, it’ll all be fine.” But upon listening to Jenny Lawson talk about what depression feels like, I know exactly what is wrong with me.

I don’t want to say much about this book because I’m sure I’m the last to read it. But if I’m not, this book is about a hashtag that Lawson started #FuriouslyHappy. Her life leading up to it and the changes that it brought about. Right from heading to Australia to having two stuffed racoons, this book is a list of crazy things that are actually perfectly normal. Granted it didn’t inspire me to have a stuffed Racoon but Furiously Happy made me laugh furiously and I’ll be grabbing her other book as soon as I can. I gave this four stars.

Now to figure out what to do about this depression. I think I’ll start with Icecream.

Buy Furiously Happy

