Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This idea started, I believe, on The Broke and Bookish blog. I spotted it on another blog here on wordpress. I’ve joined in late, missed three Tuesdays. But, I have my post for this Tuesday ready and I thought, since I missed the first three, I’d pick a topic from there to do since this one is a freebie. “January 26: Freebie Week! Pick a topic near and dear to your heart! Something you wished was on our official list!”

I’ve chosen the Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR. I’m checking a combination of my Amazon wishlist and Goodreads TBR.

1. A Man Called Ove

18774964

 

 

This is about, well, a man called Ove. He sounds a lot like a grandpa who lives in my building, snooping around after he was ousted as the secretary and complaining about everyone. But nothing slips past him. He even knows if there is a different sounding squirrel in the trees. You think I’m exaggerating, don’t you. I wish! But it sounds like a great book and lot of other blogs have been flaunting it lately so I’ve added it to my Amazon wishlist.

2. Mycroft Holmes.

24458231

 

 

Do I need to actually tell you why I added this? I think not! Just the name should say enough. Anyway, I remember being obsessed with Sherlock Holmes when I started reading detective novels but I moved and the huge book of Sherlock Holmes stories got lost somewhere and I forgot about it. Then came the TV show. I’m just very excited for this book to come.

3. Your House Is On Fire, Your Children All Gone.

13542949

I added this because of the title. Yep. That’s why. Go ahead, judge me. Also, psychotic cover eh? My god!

 

 

 

 

4. The 5th Wave

5W FINAL COVER.indd

EVERYONE IS READING THIS! I haven’t even thought of reading it but then everyone is reading it. Yes, Peer pressure made me add this book.

 

 

 

5. My Brilliant Friend

Layout 1

Someone on booktube was talking about it. I had never heard of this author and I went ahead to the goodreads page and read all the rave reviews. Straight into my amazon wishlist it went. Now I just have to wait for someone in India to take up distribution so the book is easily available.

And Yes I want to buy it despite the god awful cover.

 

6. House Of Leaves.

337907

Everyone seems so terrified of this book. I have to read it.

(Years ago, when House of Leaves was first being passed around, it was nothing more than a badly bundled heap of paper, parts of which would occasionally surface on the Internet. No one could have anticipated the small but devoted following this terrifying story would soon command.)

 

7. American Housewife. 25472765

A new booktuber (new for me) I’ve started watching recommended this. Apparantly it’s pretty good! Who’d have thunk it.

 

 

 

 

8. The Adivasis Will Not Dance.

27240055

This is a collection of short stories set in Jharkhand and I really find the premise interesting. Something for everyone in here. And the title is so great.

Not to mention the patriotism kicked in last minute. I cheated a bit (this was added last week) but what the hell.

 

 

9. The Queen Of The Tearling.

23482780

Emma Watson and this article.. That’s why.

 

 

 

 

 

10. A Tale For The Time Being

15811545

HAHA! You thought this list would end without a Japanese(well half Japanese) author didn’t you. You were wrong. My obsession continues and Ruth Ozeki is the newest to join this list. Doesn’t this sound maddeningly good? I can’t wait to finish whatever I have so I can grab this. This is on top priority on my Amazon wishlist.

 

 

 

What’s your top ten tbr list?

