Tags

, , , , ,

IMG_3419

Moving on to part two of my book haul, I also have a few Kindle books (not shown) to share with you. I bought them because I got a Gift Voucher and had no choice but to use it. If you know me you’ll know I don’t like ebooks but why look a gift horse in the UV backlit mouth?

Starting from the left, Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. This was very kindly given to me by Jen over at Combustible reviews. We were discussing it before and she was so sweet because she also sent me a lovely set of booksmarks and a postcard with a handwritten note (very neatly I might add) for me to enjoy. I hope we will be doing a buddy read of this soon.

The Particular Sadness of Lemon cake by Aimee Bender. I took this picture before I posted my review of booksreuse, the website I bought this from. So this is included anyway. Bear with me. I heard so many good reviews of this around booktube that I couldn’t help pick this up. This is about a girl, Rose Edelstein, who discovered when she bites into her mother’s homemade lemon cake one day that she has a magical power. She can taste her mother’s emotions with each bite of the cake. All I needed to hear was cake and magical power. I’m hooked.

Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger. I’m copying the back cover because I don’t know how to describe this. “When Elspeth Noblin dies of cancer, she leaves her London apartment to her twin nieces, Julia and Valentina. These two American girls never met their English aunt, only knew that their mother, too, was a twin, and Elspeth her sister. The girls move to Elspeth’s flat, which borders Highgate Cemetery in London. As the girls become embroiled in the fraying IMG_3420lives of their aunt’s neighbors, they also discover that much is still alive in Highgate, including–perhaps–their aunt, who can’t seem to leave her old apartment and life behind.” Doesn’t that sound awesome?! I’m very excited to get started on this.

Kaurava and Govinda. Book two and one of the Aryavarta Chronicles by Krishna Udayasankar. This is an indian Period/Mythological series that hasn’t really gotten much attention. I grabbed them because they were on offer. I started on Govinda already but couldn’t keep myself engaged in it. Maybe I’ll change. I was quite unwell at the time so I’m hoping it was me and not the books. I really want to love these seeing as I went ahead and bought both of them.

What do you think? Should I stop wasting money on book and actually start reading some of them?

