Tags

, , , , , ,

39999

Author : John Boyne

Genre : Historical Fiction

Publisher : David Fickling Books

Rating : StarStarStarStar

Summary : Berlin, 1942: When Bruno returns home from school one day, he discovers that his belongings are being packed in crates. His father has received a promotion and the family must move to a new house far, far away, where there is no one to play with and nothing to do. A tall fence stretches as far as the eye can see and cuts him off from the strange people in the distance.

But Bruno longs to be an explorer and decides that there must be more to this desolate new place than meets the eye. While exploring his new environment, he meets another boy whose life and circumstances are very different from his own, and their meeting results in a friendship that has devastating consequences.

Thoughts :  I’m not sure what I expected when I grabbed The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. But it left me caring a lot about Bruno. I wanted to know everything that happened to him, I wanted his father to intervene and I wanted Shmuel, the other boy, to get to eat cake.

This is the kind of book where you end up thinking about the characters more than you would care to admit. More than you thought you would. You end up wondering, “What would I do if I’d been there?” You wish you had the superpower to change things in the world. This book makes you care about people more than those big movements do.

Read it if you haven’t already. It is one of those books that everyone has to read atleast once in their lives. And at just over 200 pages it leaves you with no excuse not to.

I will say though that at certain places the protagonist, Bruno, reads as much I younger or much older but I suppose that young boys are like that. I wouldn’t know, I have more nieces than nephews.

There is also a film which I might watch. If I do I’ll post that review over on my other blog, Reelomania.

 

