Tags

, , , ,

Best reads of

A quick post to round up my favourite reads of 2015.

1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Neil Gaiman narrated this book himself and that made it all the more special. You can read my full review here. I would suggest listening to this on audiobook if you have the option.

2. All the Light We Cannot See

Another great audiobook. It’s been a great audiobook year for me. Mainly because I discovered audiobooks this year only.

3. The Handmaid’s Tale

I fell in love with this book. Well, not the situation the book was in but the writing. Margaret Atwood is a genius and I shall go through her entire bibliography ASAP.

4. Journey Under the Midnight Sun

Higashino never disappoints. I was impressed with his others but I would say this is his best work yet. Even thought I have a soft corner for Naoko.

5. Operation Jai Mata Di

While this isn’t exactly the greatest book this year what made it special was how refreshingly different it was. I was able to connect more because I had just come back from a trip to Vaishnao Devi as well!

6. The Gamer

This wasn’t exactly read in book form (although I believe books are available but only in Korean). I read it on the Line Webtoons app and I really loved how brilliantly fun it was. I joined late and caught myself up in a day and waited impatiently or the next ep to release. I believe season 2 is being released now.

7. Burial Rites

I cannot think of a book I was happier about. This was recommended by a booktuber and I paused the video, hopped onto amazon India and ordered it immediately. I was so sure it would be great and I’m not disappointed at all! The cover is gorgeous as well.

That’s all I have to share here. I know it is a short post but I didn’t really have that many perfectly great reads this year. I read a lot, but not all of them were as fabulous.

Honourable mentions are The Bell Jar, DICE, The Yellow Wallpaper , Anne Of Green Gables (Not the book but the Librevox audiobook read by Karen Savage whom I love as a narrator), A Long Stay In A Distant Land and The Casual Vacancy.

I would love to know what your favourites are.

