Tags

, , , , , , ,

18days_cover

Author : Grant Morrison

Art : Seems to keep changing

Genre : Mythology, Epic, Comics

Art Rating : StarStarStarStar

Story Rating : StarStarStar

Summary : From Grant Morrison, the acclaimed writer of Batman, and superstar artist, Mukesh Singh comes “18 Days”, the story of three generations of super- warriors, meeting for the final battle of their age. 18 Days is a re-imagining of the great myth, the Mahabharata and follows the course of the climactic war that concludes the age of the gods and begins the age of man.

Thoughts : I had spotted book two by this author in a Pooja shop (yes indeed) and asked them if book one was available. Sadly it was not but I got back home, went online and did some googling when I came across the Graphic India Twitter page. They had pinned a tweet to their profile promoting their app, Graphic Pop. Downloading it, I discovered to my delight, the 18 days comic by Grant Morrison on the app. For free!

Now I am not sure if this is just half of book one or if it is a completely different book altogether but I read it. Mainly to see if I ought to go back and boy book two but based on what I read I’ve decided to buy both of them next year as a bit of a treat for myself.

The art was nice. I wouldn’t say great but it was certainly better than most other Indian comics I’ve read so far and the story was quite fun to follow. Mainly since I can’t remember a bit of the Mahabaratha I was told as a child. This is a fun way to remember the story without going through arguments about who was better than whom and who committed what sin against whom. It’s fun and certainly worth buying. I hadn’t heard of the author before this but I’ve now added a few of his books to my TBR list on goodreads.

If you want to try out this comic before buying please download the Graphic Pop app on iTunes or Play Store to read it. Else go right ahead and buy it on Amazon or on Flipkart ( 18 Days (English)).

