Tags

, , , , , , , ,

1221666

Author : Jaishree Misra

Publisher : Penguin

Genre : Romance, Humour

Rating : StarStarStar

Cover Rating : StarStarStar

Summary : Accidents Like Love and Marriageis an unexpected romp through the universal dilemmas of love and marriage. It is a compelling tale of incompatible relationships and their astonishing success rates. The Sachdevs, Menons and Singhs are urban Indians, normal folk with everyday concerns, instantly recognizable, in fact, just a little bit like youji and me. But when a foppish Delhiwalla falls for a lovely, smart Keralite and his brother finds romance abroad, passion and comedy take control of their destinies. Why are any of these couples married to each other? Why are the unmarried wanting to marry each other? And why are some of them friends? For wouldn’t you have thought that friends, at the very least, had to be vaguely compatible, even if husbands and wives weren’t? This hilarious tale of incompatibilities explores why we do the things we do or, indeed, why we let them happen to us. Jaishree Misra’s second novel.

Thoughts : This was a nice light book that I grabbed while scouring my shelves for something I had misplaced. I didn’t find that, but I found this and somehow found myself flipping through the pages eagerly. I had read it before but, for the life of me, couldn’t remember how it ended. So I patiently made my way rediscovering characters I had read about in 2004.

This story is an easy one to read. It follows Swarn, Rohit, Tarun and Jagdish of the Sachdev household and their new daughter-in-law Neena who comes into their house like a whirlwind and changes everything. What she mainly changes is their second son, Tarun, by introducing the womaniser to her wonderful best friend, the south Indian Gayathri.

I enjoyed the story a lot. The wording flowed easily and I found no lag in places. I can’t believe that I enjoyed reading it again after all these years. While the ending, or the lack of one, did put me off giving it four stars, it is still a 3 star book within its genre.

Do NOT read this book for some kind of life changing story. It is not that. It is simply a humorous story about a bunch of Delhiites and how they reach to the world. It is stereotypical and yes there is racism but don’t be over sensitive and cry when there isn’t anything actually offensive.

Jaishree Misra is a great writer and I look forward to reading her other releases. The writing style in this book in particular has a free feeling, almost like you’re sitting and gossiping about your old neighbours with your cousins. it is also a perfect gift for those who don’t really read much and are looking for something fun and entertaining. I really needed this light read while adjusting to my new glasses.

