Tags

, , , , , , ,

So I was feeling sad about my Ophthalmologist’s announcement about me having to permanently wear glasses when I got back home to see (almost, I hadn’t gotten them yet) this tag from Emma (Thanks for tagging me)! I waited patiently to get my glasses and I’m not sitting and typing away.

1. Do you have a favourite winter read?

91tqrxYMG L

I do indeed. It is, quite unsurprisingly, Harry Potter. The whole set. My whole family loves HP and take turns, each winter, reading from book one. I start it off and we slowly, amidst many mugs of hot chocolate, finish the books and then bemoan the fact that we didn’t receive our acceptance letters.

2. Find a book with blue on the cover.

25084470

This was one of those books that I picked up at the airport because I had forgotten to charge my Kindle/left my book on the sidetable as I left the house. I don’t remember which. But as someone who has a friend going through a sad divorce, this was very relatable. It follows the rather slow and twisting separation of Arathi Menon, the protagonist, from her husband. Although she is part of a modern crowd and is living is a relatively forward place, there are still many difficulties that she has to o through till she can finally become the happy person she sees herself as.

The writing style is smooth, flows freely and except for a small portion at the end where it slows down, it is a great read. Pick it up if you are able to relate personally or if you are looking for something different.

3. Find a book you’d pick as the star on a Christmas tree.

25361904

I don’t celebrate Christmas, never have. But from what I know the star is beautiful, ornate and breathtakingly festive. This book has the most beautiful cover i’ve seen all year. So this is the one I would pick.

And it is filled with Fairy Tales and there are some lovely Christmases in Doctor Who.

4. Pick one fictional place that would be perfect for a winter vacation.

l_32wohp_hr_deup

Well based on my first pick….this should have been an obvious answer. I cannot tell you how excited I would be to spend winter here. I mean, snow, first of all, I’ve never seen snow. And snow with magical fires around and Hagrid and Fang and long cloaks and pudding in the great hall and Butterbeer? Oh my goodness I would be most satisfied with spending winter here.

5. Pick one fictional character you’d take with you on a winter vacation.

iPhone, Blackberry, wallpaper, 480, 320, pixels, high, vertical

This is a much more difficult one to answer. I don’t think I’m very great to holiday with, I’m bossy and I make lists and I like sticking to them. I’m usually the caretaker of the group. But, if I were pushed to pick one off the top of my head I would pick Sirius. I think I need to stop being so serious and he might be a great help there. (See what I did there? wink! wink!)

Moreover, he could probably use a vacation!

And…just look at him!!!

6. Name one book on your Christmas wishlist this year.

61VpX7pefoL._SX342_BO1,204,203,200_

A bride’s Story.

This follows Amira who marries a boy from her neighbouring village when she’s twenty. Culture clashes, freedom clashes and the young couple start learning about each other’s cultures and customs. I made it sound really boring but I promise, the person who recommended it to me did not.

I’ve been looking for someplace to start a collection and this seems as good a place to start as any. This isn’t the only one on the wishlist though. But this was the first one that came up (Alphabetic order) when I opened up my wishlist.

Have you read it?

7. What is your favourite holiday drink / treat and movie?

Like I mentioned earlier, we don’t celebrate christmas but I have friends who do. Usually my school friend’s mum bakes a chocolate cake (an eggfree one for me) with rather festive icing and that is consumed in a couple of days. Then mugs of Ginger Coffee (a south Indian winter thing) had while watching the Harry Potter films back to back.

I tag :

Sushmita from My Experiments With Truth.

Nagina from Oh Bookish. and

Emily from Emily Talks About Books.

Merry Christmas and Advance happy new year (in case I don’t post till after)

