Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve had an ok reading month. Not based on numbers but based on how I feel about the books I read. I won’t post reviews here since I’ve posted Individual reviews. Let’s get on with it!

16248319

The Ocean At  The End Of The Land by Neil Gaiman was one of the best books I’ve listened to. An involuntary love affair with his books might be started very soon.

This is about a 7 year old boy (unnamed) who lived up the lane from Lettie Hempstock (a member of a rather “magical?” powerful family)who claims that her pond is an ocean and experienced a series of other worldly and horrifying things. One of these other worldly beings soon launch an attack on him under the guise of a human being and he runs to the hempstock farm to seek refuge.

The narrator comes back to this story when he is 40 years old and is trying his best to recall what actually happened though we as the audience know what happened. Neil Gaiman did a beautiful job narrating this and I’ve already added Stardust to my TBR.

25592135

False Flag by Joe Tinsiano

This follows Frank Bowen as he travels to India and Bangkok in search for some of the adventures he feels he would miss if he marries his long time girlfriend (now ex). During this journey he accidentally gets mixed up in something big, something political something that might get him killed.

This was, again, an audiobook and I reviewed this for Audiobook Reviewer. I’ll be sharing the review here once it is posted there. Buy on Amazon below.

27024885

Operation Jai Mata Di by Pratik Shah

The devotees of Vaishano Devi are  back for their yearly pilgrimage but this time things are different. Armed men take over one of the roads to the temple and starts making demands that the government does what they say without argument. When the government refuses the hostages’ lives are put in grave danger.

This was a very exciting book for me and I enjoyed the fact that it was diverse (had characters from all over India) and had strong female characters. Give it a read if you’re looking to support good debut talent.

Or Amazon Operation Jai Mata Di

907484

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

Everyone has heard of The Bell Jar so a review would be useless here. I enjoyed this book a lot. The slow process of a woman losing her mind and how she sees the world around her was very accurate. Atleast in this particular situation.

I listened to the audiobook here which was narrated by Maggie Gyllenhaal who did a great job. It felt like she was Esther.

Or Amazon

24916679

The Time Being by Antonia Honeywell

This was free on Audible as a short story. A prequel to the book The Ship. “At 11 Lalla should be enjoying her childhood in London. But this is not London as we know it. In a collapsed society, Lalla struggles to imagine her future. When a government announcement invites her to enjoy a new life in Regent’s Park, Lalla sees a glimmer of hope. But what is she willing to risk?”

I enjoyed it. Not much but enough to get me curious about The Ship. Let’s see if I actually am compelled enough to pick it up.

27803151T’was A Jacktalope by L.E. Wilson

The ancient folklore of the Jackalope – a horned superhero – comes to life in the story of Check-mas, a New Year’s celebration that inspires gratefulness, kindness and happiness.

 

6932856

Exponential Apocalypse by Eirik Gumeny

This has a very interesting premise. A world which has gone through 22 apocalypses and in now racing towards the 23rd. These apocalypses have resulted in 6 varieties of humanity (2 of these are the undead)

Exponential Apocalypse is the tender, heart-stirring tale of crappy jobs, a slacker cult, an alcoholic Aztec god, reconstituted world leaders, werewolves, robots, and the shenanigans of multiple persons living after the twentieth-aught end of the world. Fast-paced, frenetic, funny, and frequently fond of other f-words. I really enjoyed this book and I’m starting on one of the sequels next month. Buy On Amazon Exponential Apocalypse

21954090

The Bali Mystery by Linda Weaver Clarke

Oh god this book disappointed me. It was great till the halfway point and then it just fell apart for me. Sadly this was one of the few audiobooks I actually looked forward to reviewing. Actually the one I didn’t look forward to reviewing turned out much better than this.

Give this a skip if you’re Indian or Asian or have ever travelled or met someone from these parts.

Part one ends here. Part two will be posted soon!

